Oor Nicola Sturgeon thread.

Pearbuyerbell

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Drivel that Blair, Brown and Reid drove the political agenda?  That Dim Dave Cameron fucked us wrt Brexit and Scexit?

The Scots in government have been utterly abject so let's partition Britain,  eh?

Partition does seem to the political system of choice when it comes to the UK, whether it’s partitioning Ireland or Europe.

41 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Drivel that Blair, Brown and Reid drove the political agenda?  That Dim Dave Cameron fucked us wrt Brexit and Scexit?

The Scots in government have been utterly abject so let's partition Britain,  eh?

Yes, they were all in charge for the thick end of 40 years, including the English one.

Stop havering for Christ's sake.

Edited by Monkey Tennis

14 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

I didn't read it but that Scotland and England have shared laws - in some areas  - is beyond dispute.

Taxation and immigration are two areas that stand out.  UK Law would make sense since, of course, we've been one nation since 1707.

How about Dominic Grieve when he was Attorney General?

https://www.gov.uk/government/speeches/two-jurisdictions-a-shared-inheritance

"The United Kingdom enjoys 3 separate legal jurisdictions: England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, which each reflect their unique culture and history.

Now this obvious truism is important because it is a feature of the United Kingdom that really does give us strength in numbers.

As with the majority of Europe’s legal systems, Scots law takes much of its shape and character from Roman - or civil - law. The result of this is that Scots law makes use of concepts more common in those continental legal systems that can sometimes seem alien to we English and Welsh lawyers.

One of the interesting aspects of being Attorney is that I have started to understand Scots legal principles far better through my contact with my colleague and friend Jim Wallace, the Advocate General.

It is now over 300 years ago that Article 19 of the Treaty of Union ensured the continuation of Scotland’s legal system as a separate jurisdiction with separate courts within the United Kingdom, preserving its power and traditions. But while the law of Scotland and the law of England and Wales remain separate and distinct, the last 300 years have seen each system adapt to take the best from what the other has to offer."

Edited by DeeTillEhDeh

10 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

The Scottish Reformation of 1560 and the English one under Henry VIII were hugely different. This was nothing at all to do with bringing Scotland and England together. That argument is utter nonsense. 

The Treaty of Leith of 1560 - which brought to an end The Auld Alliance - in which we sought hauners from England to oust Mary of Guise's French garrison - was the beginning of a cooperation that led to our union in 1707.

Edit for completeness:  Of course Scotland's reformation took a different path to that of England but there was a sweet spot wherein Protestant Scotland threw its lot in with Protestant England vs The Catholic Continent.

Edited by The_Kincardine

3 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Which bit of 'UK Law' are you struggling with?

Almost every legal expert will tell you that Scotland has a separate legal system - yet you persist with your layman's pish.

Both quotes I gave you were from the UK government's own websites.

Edited by DeeTillEhDeh