Favourite Building in your home town/city

14 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

Eh? On the Nethergate, across from the back door to Debenhams in The Overgate. Been away a bit too long?

Certainly have. So that's the old Greens Playhouse which obviously looked bigger to a wee me. Debenhams? It was only C&A, Littlewoods or BHS in the Overgate and Draffens doon the road from Greens.

Edited by Eednud

2 hours ago, Bobby Skidmarks said:

In Inverness, its not a building but an impressive structure. The fallen tree in the Islands that someone turned into a snake. Every one has probably had a carry out when they were a kid here.

Screen Shot 2017-11-13 at 19.17.15.png

It was even better when it had a sign next to it reading 'Mysteries of the Deep'.

Anyway, two more from Inverness:

5a0a1a99691a4_Goathousereduced.jpg.a0fe1ec897a596c33aaab6f59d97b670.jpg

A mad old woman my folks used to know lived on the upper floors here, and kept goats on the ground floor. Stunning building, but apparently it was utterly fetid when they finally cleared the goats out.  And on the hill above it: 

5a0a1bc813a18_Ardekeentowerreduced.jpg.460381d995a8a77671264c726bd3744d.jpg

Ardkeen Tower. Just sits on the corner of a residential street, but it's actually an old observatory and one of the roof panels in the dome shifts to accommodate a telescope. Lastly, Glasgow:

5a0a1c39893cd_Artschoolreduced.jpg.1b3ca9dac86774a19c6683d9f3977d1f.jpg

Really predictable choice, but I've worked in the street behind the Macintosh for the last ten years, and it's a fucking stunning building. Was genuinely upset when fire gutted the side pictured in this photo.

3 hours ago, Johnny Däpp said:

From my home area of Govan I’ll probably go for my church, Govan Old Parish Church. The building especially the inside is simply stunning

D67F36F5-7E14-4B8A-8F18-5A10596F836E.thumb.jpeg.f30526dd4caba05257d9c292837031eb.jpeg2D28324A-9FFD-4204-9DFF-E1534005BC44.jpeg.a43033cc1da0a2729f5034c917535d19.jpeg

Glasgow itself I’ve got many favourites, Kelvingrove art gallery, Glasgow city chambers, Glasgow University but one building I’ve always really liked is the Gallery of Modern Art and the surround square. This picture is class...

F998A147-660B-4CF6-9873-063A33539403.jpeg.1deec2136e03d39c82f57ed35bbd0621.jpeg

Since moving to Falkirk 4 1/2 years ago I’ve became very fond of the Steeple, especially with how glorious it looks now after its recent refurb. 

D6171334-F10C-4B99-90DA-27941B1DC133.jpeg.af2a53080994ec608754c79554cd8075.jpeg

The same architect designed the steeple and the Gallery of Modern Art!

"..the Falkirk Steeple. There has been a steeple in Falkirk since the 17th Century with the present building dating from 1814. It was designed by David Hamilton who also designed the Nelson Monument on Glasgow Green and the Royal Exchange Building which is now the Glasgow Museum of Modern Art." - from the Edinburgh City v Falkirk programme, July 2017

5a0a24697274e_barclaychurch.jpg.a70d933c67914e79d7250732f72767c6.jpg

there are many fine buildlings in the Capital but my favourite is the Barclay Church. An insane piece of mock Gothic crammed into a small space. You could imagine it being in a Dracula movie or Quasimodo swinging from the steeple. 

I also love these magnificent erections (!) but alas, they are endangered with Meadowbank's redevelopment

5a0a25cc768b9_ekstarlings.thumb.jpg.cae8d94f49318daed1870fc32e78ed2d.jpg

one from Arbroath- I used to think this was a real castle when I was a lad but it's a disguised water tower. Like many an iconic building in Scotland its not really been looked after and had suffered from neddery the last time I looked at it. 

5a0a265e5b968_keptiepark.jpg.acad4507b9d505b4c27a1e432877172a.jpg

5a0a24697274e_barclaychurch.jpg.a70d933c67914e79d7250732f72767c6.jpg
there are many fine buildlings in the Capital but my favourite is the Barclay Church. An insane piece of mock Gothic crammed into a small space. You could imagine it being in a Dracula movie or Quasimodo swinging from the steeple. 
I also love these magnificent erections (!) but alas, they are endangered with Meadowbank's redevelopment
5a0a25cc768b9_ekstarlings.thumb.jpg.cae8d94f49318daed1870fc32e78ed2d.jpg
one from Arbroath- I used to think this was a real castle when I was a lad but it's a disguised water tower. Like many an iconic building in Scotland its not really been looked after and had suffered from neddery the last time I looked at it. 

5a0a265e5b968_keptiepark.jpg.acad4507b9d505b4c27a1e432877172a.jpg

Spent many a pre season running up and down the hills and around the pond.

Water Tower steps too.

Arbroath_Keptie_Pond.jpg

Since Paisley was the biggest thread producer in the world, the mill owners Clarks and Coates were very philanthropic and funded the building of...

The Town Hall

0_DNP_PDE_280721townhall_08JPG.jpg.97941b91eab26e86cd3a89e1e5cea534.jpg

Paisley_Town_Hall_(geograph_5072646).jpg.fe8f9edaf51aa89a615adfd0eabbb6fe.jpg

The library and museum

Paisley_Library_and_Museum.jpg.20b8b29011709c1d39b5fd10061f1bfb.jpg

Observatory

Coats_Observatory.jpg.3aedd0c5b00bd95c8dc2e84cf81d00f0.jpg

and existing mill buildings

cropped-anchor-mill.thumb.jpg.6ae7c0b6113290d93d595ce4f1a4365e.jpg

mem-25.jpg.bf064931ccaefbbf595278779367c9fd.jpg

There's also the Abbey

download.jpeg.bd0864ce7247e3d81b97e4327a09f7c8.jpegPaisley_Abbey_from_North_West_-_Leaning_western_gable_-_125mp.thumb.jpg.20219bced824a28441d10ee9e48eb664.jpg

The Coats Memorial church

2ThomasCoatsMemorialChurchWS.thumb.jpg.1de9e0a33ba5b3973dbab0a905bb1ab0.jpg

The John Neilston Institute

JohnNeilsonInstitute.thumb.jpg.2d40a987fb1d741433889414980059f8.jpg

The Russell Institute 

The-Russell.jpg

Sheriff Court

200405609-264038-800.jpg

But of course Paisley is a shitehole despite having more listed buildings anywhere in Scotland outwith Edinburgh. 

Edited by Arch Stanton

Arch Stanton makes a good point about Clarks* and Coates putting up fine buildings  around Paisley to enrich the environment and the people. And what do our captains of well, there isn't much industry left so lets call them Captains of the Economy do these days? Stick their money in offshore accounts while our cities are blighted by cheap and nasty looking concrete boxes that won't last 50 years. 

Prince Charles style rant over! 

(* btw: Kenneth Clark of "Civilisation" fame and Alan Clark MP of shagging fame came from that family)

10 hours ago, KnightswoodBear said:

When I was wee, I used to love the Granary on South Street.  It seemed impossibly large to my younger self.  Then they knocked it down and threw up some horrific flats

granary13.jpg

Mind they were supposed to be building more flats along there and a shopping centre, cinema, restaurants and bars etc, now its one wee bit of flats and f**k all else.