Cancel culture

19 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

Genuinely ignore *most* posts VT makes as it always appears to be tied behind a 'gimmick'. Desperate to get some wee catchphrase in and attempts to try and ridicule the person he's debating with rather than actually look to engage in a discussion about the topic.

He's a roaster that provides some laugh out loud material. He clearly has some form of intelligence as he's able to cover a vast span of subjects and has eloquence in his put downs.

Agree with most of this tbh. To give a wee bit more context to your (IMO) spot on "gimmick" comment I did the same degree as VT at the same Uni a couple of years ahead of him and his persona on here is a  carbon copy of the toxic staff he learned from, who were almost to a person snidey arseholes with delousions of grandeur. If you ever have the misfortune to meet acerbic but still absolute personality vacuums like John Young or Richard Finlay at a "cheese and wine" you'd get VT. 

1 hour ago, cb_diamond said:

Agree with most of this tbh. To give a wee bit more context to your (IMO) spot on "gimmick" comment I did the same degree as VT at the same Uni a couple of years ahead of him and his persona on here is a  carbon copy of the toxic staff he learned from, who were almost to a person snidey arseholes with delousions of grandeur. If you ever have the misfortune to meet acerbic but still absolute personality vacuums like John Young or Richard Finlay at a "cheese and wine" you'd get VT. 

Finlay did a debate at Glasgow when I was there and he was really funny just winding up half our class and Catriona MacCleod. Fair play that you've downgraded your judgment of him from "walking #MeToo candidate" to "absolute personality vacuum".

Two points of clarification needed here after reading multiple pages of frankly disturbing back and forths over yours truly. 

1) The sole reason why I referred to myself as a 'qualified historian' was because @Bairnardo was beginning to depict historical academia as being a hivemind consisting of a single 'mainstream' argument running against 'alternatives' such as conspiracy theories and, the topic of debate at that time in the thread, holocaust denial. It is therefore relevant to cite my contribution as that of a qualified historian because that involves being trained in the field's research methodology as well as spending an inordinate amount of time studying and condensing how history is actually written (historiography). We go through that mind-numbing pish so that lay people can just pick up a decent book or two and go with it. And to Bairnardo's credit, he was prepared to row back from those lay judgments in the face of this expertise. It was and will be just about the only context in which the qualified aspect will be relevant to a debate but I'll take the victory lap nonetheless.

1 hour ago, cb_diamond said:

Nothing underlines your failed Desmond learning experience at Strathclyde quite like conflating a permaraging bigot like John Young with the king of smooth himself. Or thinking that the latter would be seen dead at a 'cheese and wine event'. Other than that though, a solid 1/10 effort.

A82C2CD1-48C9-41B5-9D28-A9E9CE8E0FD2.jpeg.d3be676db1ccf3317445a35c285ddeed.jpeg

There’s no doubt that algorithms and social media has contributed to people being pulled down one direction and you can find stuff that seemingly supports either argument whether it’s actually factually correct and this leads people into claiming they are experts in subjects trying to argue with actual knowledgable people who spent years studying and learning with exams and testing.

Its the same as trying to do your job through google, pretty condescending and VT was quite right to stand up for himself.

If people didn’t issue out telts then we would end up with a shouting contest or bunfights on every topic for discussion. There needs to be more acceptance of knowledge and authority. 

37 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

Pish. Every c**t has a degree, doesn't make them experts in anything. Even folk with PhDs are only really expert in a narrow field of their study.

Someone with a PhD is by definition an expert in how their academic field works in addition to their research specialism champ. Thanks for playing anyway.

PhD isn’t usually achieved just through exams though? It’s showing applied learning and won’t just be given out to anyone.

You’re contributing something that hasn’t been done before aren’t you? Like research in a specific field.

Maybe I’m wrong?

On 24/07/2020 at 13:47, virginton said:

Two points of clarification needed here after reading multiple pages of frankly disturbing back and forths over yours truly. 

1) The sole reason why I referred to myself as a 'qualified historian' was because @Bairnardo was beginning to depict historical academia as being a hivemind consisting of a single 'mainstream' argument running against 'alternatives' such as conspiracy theories and, the topic of debate at that time in the thread, holocaust denial. It is therefore relevant to cite my contribution as that of a qualified historian because that involves being trained in the field's research methodology as well as spending an inordinate amount of time studying and condensing how history is actually written (historiography). We go through that mind-numbing pish so that lay people can just pick up a decent book or two and go with it. And to Bairnardo's credit, he was prepared to row back from those lay judgments in the face of this expertise. It was and will be just about the only context in which the qualified aspect will be relevant to a debate but I'll take the victory lap nonetheless.

Nothing underlines your failed Desmond learning experience at Strathclyde quite like conflating a permaraging bigot like John Young with the king of smooth himself. Or thinking that the latter would be seen dead at a 'cheese and wine event'. Other than that though, a solid 1/10 effort.

I got 18 out of 20 for my historiography exam in my final year which was my best result in four years of studying Aberdeen's pubs, sorry, history :geek