Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

6 hours ago, Connor1874 said:

Got me thinking about other foods and peoples fixation on presentation. 'Ohh look at this, it's 'Food A' but it looks like 'Food B' or 'look how pristine the plating is on this'. Who actually cares? Granted I don't want my meal to look like the proverbial dogs dinner, but it's about to get demolished and mashed up in my stomach in a few minutes.

image.gif.756b89c406ddd2dbaa04afd685812955.gif

27 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

Channel hopping and you get distracted by something and find Top fucking Gear on your TV. 

The bit at the end where they gather together with their fans and w**k each other off. 

I must have missed that one.

31 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

Channel hopping and you get distracted by something and find Top fucking Gear on your TV. 

The bit at the end where they gather together with their fans and w**k each other off. 

Yesterday I caught part of one where Clarkson was interviewing Benedict Cumberbatch. They got talking about simulated fights in films and Clarkson claimed that he didn't know how to throw a punch.

Try telling that to his producer...

43 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

I'm not sure what's worse - that a Top Gear porn parody exists, or that you've watched it.

Ron Jeremy as Clarkson, presumably.

6 hours ago, Soapy FFC said:

In one small example about cake, you have highlighted why the whole wedding industry is now so out of hand.

Indeed :) 

8 hours ago, Connor1874 said:

My daughter, and my partners wee boy just had their birthdays a few weeks ago, only 5 days apart. As an aside, her daughter and my other daughter are 4 days apart. Mother in law makes cakes and she makes good ones, but they sat debating about what to do regards to cakes for the birthdays there. Basically they wanted to have a cake for each of them. She makes pretty big cakes. 2 at once would've been way too much. I told them to just have one fairly generic cake for the 2 of them. Again, it's a cake. It'll be cut up, eaten and forgotten about in a couple of days.

Wummin and cakes, man. Honestly.

CC916E8C-EFAE-468C-8B55-08D4D68A1F45.thumb.jpeg.885516c907a5512c7eab0f4da268b36c.jpeg

On holiday in Turkey just now and been awake since just after 2am due to a Scottish couple on the same floor having a domestic, the female being the one shouting longest and loudest. 

This went on so long somebody else felt the need to call the cops. Even when the cops were here she was still going at it. 

Suspect alcohol may have played a part in it all. 

I dont know if I'm more annoyed at the female or my own partner and son who slept through the whole thing!

4 hours ago, FK1Bairn said:

On holiday in Turkey just now and been awake since just after 2am due to a Scottish couple on the same floor having a domestic, the female being the one shouting longest and loudest. 

This went on so long somebody else felt the need to call the cops. Even when the cops were here she was still going at it. 

Suspect alcohol may have played a part in it all. 

I dont know if I'm more annoyed at the female or my own partner and son who slept through the whole thing!

It will all be worth it when you're rocking your new hair/teeth.

On 26/06/2023 at 10:25, Connor1874 said:

Everybody loves a bit of cake now and then, aye? But at what point does a nice wee cake turn into some ****ing art exhibition? Missus was showing me photos of some cake company's work on Facebook last night. 'How cool is that?', one of them was a huge JCB digger cake for a bairns birthday. Massive I tell you.

While I have to say the craftsmanship is impressive, my mind can't help but switch to thinking 'it's a ****ing cake'. How much time and effort goes into making some of these? Let alone how much money gets spent on them? Couldn't really care what it looks like on the outside, it's still sponge with a bit of cream or jam on the inside. 

Got me thinking about other foods and peoples fixation on presentation. 'Ohh look at this, it's 'Food A' but it looks like 'Food B' or 'look how pristine the plating is on this'. Who actually cares? Granted I don't want my meal to look like the proverbial dogs dinner, but it's about to get demolished and mashed up in my stomach in a few minutes.

Just felt I had to rant a wee bit there. Feel better now. Might go get cake.

When I worked at TGI's the food had to be, and these were their very words, "Instagram ready". Fuckin boke.

Anyway, I'm sure @johnnydun has some opinions on this given his boy is going for a Michelin star.

My issue with the JCB type cake is how do you cut it up for the weans without creating a Barney? Bairns are absolute communists when it comes to division of cake and will start a civil war if they get less than their pal.

42 minutes ago, velo army said:

When I worked at TGI's the food had to be, and these were their very words, "Instagram ready". Fuckin boke.

Anyway, I'm sure @johnnydun has some opinions on this given his boy is going for a Michelin star.

My issue with the JCB type cake is how do you cut it up for the weans without creating a Barney? Bairns are absolute communists when it comes to division of cake and will start a civil war if they get less than their pal.

I'm certainly no expert, in fact, really shite at cooking. But if I were to take a guess it would be that the food must look appealing to begin with, to get the mouth watering etc.. build the anticipation. 

As for the cakes, well it's just a novelty.