The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

:lol: It's a club tie. He was handed it when he walked in the door.

Before you took his photos you should have told him to retie it so it was at a decent length. 

nah your still here because Masterton decided he didnae want his money back. If he had played hardball you'd have been fecked.

He did play hard ball. Including taking us to court to try and force the administration process to fail. Thankfully he got his arse handed to him and he slinked off back to Switzerland. Only reason he didn't vote against the CVA was because it was shown to him that the cva was going to succeed despite him. Still didn't have the heart to vote for it mind you.

Hartley was fantastic for us. Best manager in my lifetime, which isn't exactly the highest of praise considering the other contenders. Don't know what went wrong in his final season with us. He had a complete and utter disaster. I reckon we'll be welcoming Falkirk back to the top flight at some point during his reign.

He will alienate people at the club though. He's not exactly a people person. He will dismantle the club top to bottom and make it his own. You'll have the hardest working manager in Scottish football, his biggest flaw, however, is he can't change a game to save his life and he's extremely stubborn, even if something is blatantly not working.

2 hours ago, Crawford Baptie said:

What kind of style did he have you play?

Baws out attack 4-1-2-1-2 which changed to a pragmatic 4-4-2 which then reverted to an attacking 3-5-2, which finally changed to a defensive, hoofball, f**k it, keep the ball out our half, 3-5-2.

Be prepared for a shit load of draws lads and lasses. 

To be fair though I think Hartley will be a good appointment for Falkirk.  He'll try and get you's playing football on the carpet rather launching it back to front. His biggest failing for me is he never signed anyone to do the dirty side of the game. We were screaming out for a ball winner in both midfield and defence and never once got one in 3 years. 

Doubt you would've had a harder working at your club in a number of years than Hartley. Please feel free to loan Vincent and Williams from us, thank you. 

A few getting a tad over excited! Unless he's changed, learned from his mistakes, become less stubborn and managed to work out a plan B.... then he'll simply turn your staff upside down bringing in his mates, overload one area of the team in January and completely ignore the glaringly obvious deficiencies elsewhere and say " jist wizny good enough" every time you lose! Good luck!!!

38 minutes ago, Yenitit said:

To be fair though I think Hartley will be a good appointment for Falkirk.  He'll try and get you's playing football on the carpet rather launching it back to front.

His biggest failing for me is he never signed anyone to do the dirty side of the game. We were screaming out for a ball winner in both midfield and defence and never once got one in 3 years. 

Doubt you would've had a harder working at your club in a number of years than Hartley. 

1) will not be an issue to revert to decent style of play as only in our tailspin spell have we been playing ‘square, square, square - hoof’.  On the deck - but much, much quicker - is very much acceptable, thankyou please. 

2) not good news. Houston’s biggest failing is not addressing this, in 3 years of it being blatantly obvious. Been debated on here since Rugby Park at least. 

3) good news. a) Time to cast our recruiting net a bit wider than just the Central Belt; and b) get the team to do some practice work on corners, and shooting. 

Edited by Dennistoun Bairn

He's been a bit of a hairy wee chunker for a few years now, but for how long has Paul Hartley looked like a sweaty wee virgin who tans 7 cans of Monster a day?

2 hours ago, parsforlife said:

He did play hard ball. Including taking us to court to try and force the administration process to fail. Thankfully he got his arse handed to him and he slinked off back to Switzerland. Only reason he didn't vote against the CVA was because it was shown to him that the cva was going to succeed despite him. Still didn't have the heart to vote for it mind you.

How was the cva going to succeed without him?He was due 8.5 mill the vast majority of the cash. If he'd voted against it that was it you were doomed just like HMRC did with sevco.

He was not in control of EEP Ltd.

You don't have a clue what you are talking about.