The Falkirk FC Thread

Guest Back Post Misses
1 hour ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Imo it is clear and obvious that there is a link between the decision to give Nesbitt a 2 year deal and the lack of funds now available to sign a right back.

The manager has a limited budget (which we are told is lower than last season) so any decision to invest in one area of the squad has a knock on effect on the resources available to strengthen other areas.

What a lot of pish. 
Get over McGlynn rating a player you don’t. I know who is more qualified to make the correct call and he doesn’t post anonymously on a forum.  

Edited by Back Post Misses

1 hour ago, PedroMoutinho said:

The manager has a limited budget (which we are told is lower than last season) so any decision to invest in one area of the squad has a knock on effect on the resources available to strengthen other areas.

No shit Sherlock

This is like the Twilight Zone

We got absolutely embarrassed in a play off game (and others), largely because of the managers failings and yet we're to blindly "trust his judgement" 

An inexperienced youngster whose favoured position is midfield is a perfectly acceptable right back to go into our most important season in years with noone in the squad who can cover (nobody please try to suggest Brad McKay) and lots of you think this is fine? 

McGlynn didn't prioritize a right back and not get one, he spent all his budget on others and most likely hoped the board would keep stretching it. 

Also we're pinning hopes on Jordan Allan up front, our only realistic hope of a 10+ goal striker because he once scored 10 goals for Clyde while we use up our budget on MacIvor, Nesbitt, Oliver etc leaving the hope that poor Finn Yeats can somehow turn into Cafu and Tom Lang (the 4th choice centre half at the team who finished 7th in the championship last year) can turn Leon McCann, Sean Mackie, Brad McKay and Coll Donaldson from leaky sieves into Arsenal under George Graham. 

I've gone into seasons previously with false hope but imo we're not in a great state atm with no budget left and glaring gaps in the squad. 

I really hope I'm wrong but defensive issues have cost us time and again and I can't believe so many are comfortable we've spent our budget and not fixed that. 

Where's Caractacus Potts when you need him to remind us how much we should trust McGlynn. 

25 minutes ago, Proudtobeabairn said:

This is like the Twilight Zone

We got absolutely embarrassed in a play off game (and others), largely because of the managers failings and yet we're to blindly "trust his judgement" 

An inexperienced youngster whose favoured position is midfield is a perfectly acceptable right back to go into our most important season in years with noone in the squad who can cover (nobody please try to suggest Brad McKay) and lots of you think this is fine? 

McGlynn didn't prioritize a right back and not get one, he spent all his budget on others and most likely hoped the board would keep stretching it. 

Also we're pinning hopes on Jordan Allan up front, our only realistic hope of a 10+ goal striker because he once scored 10 goals for Clyde while we use up our budget on MacIvor, Nesbitt, Oliver etc leaving the hope that poor Finn Yeats can somehow turn into Cafu and Tom Lang (the 4th choice centre half at the team who finished 7th in the championship last year) can turn Leon McCann, Sean Mackie, Brad McKay and Coll Donaldson from leaky sieves into Arsenal under George Graham. 

I've gone into seasons previously with false hope but imo we're not in a great state atm with no budget left and glaring gaps in the squad. 

I really hope I'm wrong but defensive issues have cost us time and again and I can't believe so many are comfortable we've spent our budget and not fixed that. 

Where's Caractacus Potts when you need him to remind us how much we should trust McGlynn. 

Guessing you don’t fancy our chances much mate ?

Imo while Spencer and Lang look like good additions, we still have issues that haven’t been addressed and look weaker than last season in some areas.

The squad as a whole is also unbalanced with arguably too many players at centre half, left back and defensive midfield but no real natural options at all at right back or box to box midfield. Then you’ve got 4 centre forwards (only 1 of whom could potentially be considered a natural goal scorer) on the books for what will in all likelihood be a 1 up front formation.

I’m trying not to panic (and have largely switched off since the end of the season as 10 months a year of Falkirk is more than enough) but I’m looking at our squad as it stands, listening to McGlynn, and I am extremely worried.

3 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Imo while Spencer and Lang look like good additions, we still have issues that haven’t been addressed and look weaker than last season in some areas.

The squad as a whole is also unbalanced with arguably too many players at centre half, left back and defensive midfield but no real natural options at all at right back or box to box midfield. Then you’ve got 4 centre forwards (only 1 of whom could potentially be considered a natural goal scorer) on the books for what will in all likelihood be a 1 up front formation.

We haven't even finished pre-season and there is over a month until the window closes. 

McGlynn will be frustrated, no doubt, but he has to deal with the situation as it is not as he hopes it will be.  

Balancing losing out on targets whilst holding on for others is the game that's played. Contrary to HSW players won't be hanging around for us and vice-versa we shouldn't be for them to the detriment of signing someone who is keen. 

Unfathomable that some can't see that player dealings is fluid and fraught.

33 minutes ago, Hughsie said:

I’m trying not to panic (and have largely switched off since the end of the season as 10 months a year of Falkirk is more than enough) but I’m looking at our squad as it stands, listening to McGlynn, and I am extremely worried.

My biggest concerns are the same as the majority on here ie. no right back and I’d like more creativity in the midfield (Yeats and Lawal may solve both).

I don’t think I’m one of the more negative posters on here and some of the negativity I read is brutal, I also generally enjoy the banter on here.

What I would say is that I think twice about posting anything that could be seen to be negative in the slightest towards McGlynn. Whilst he’s nowhere near the worst manager we’ve had (we’ve had that debate), he’s nowhere near any of the best either (we’ve had that debate too) and I think there are times when constructive criticism of him should be fine. 

There are times when reading some posts that he can do no wrong.

28 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

My biggest concerns are the same as the majority on here ie. no right back and I’d like more creativity in the midfield (Yeats and Lawal may solve both).

I don’t think I’m one of the more negative posters on here and some of the negativity I read is brutal, I also generally enjoy the banter on here.

What I would say is that I think twice about posting anything that could be seen to be negative in the slightest towards McGlynn. Whilst he’s nowhere near the worst manager we’ve had (we’ve had that debate), he’s nowhere near any of the best either (we’ve had that debate too) and I think there are times when constructive criticism of him should be fine. 

There are times when reading some posts that he can do no wrong.

A fair summary but let's criticise him on the outcomes not on perceptions.

I won't rehash all the arguments for and against but a wee bit pragmatism rather than the constant derision of everything he does - or doesn't do - from certain posters wouldn't go amiss until the real action starts.

Can we remember what happened last year. The loans come in post League Cup and close to the end of the transfer deadline -agents prefer that and so do managers. Also 5 subs in the games means clubs need larger squads. Be patient. 

7 minutes ago, JulioBairn said:

I acknowledge our deficiencies but I think we’ll be good enough to win the league. Am I the only one?

I'm keeping my feet on the ground regards what will happen 9-10 months from now. 

Bitten one too many times to make bold predictions.

Just keep winning when others aren't and the rest takes care of itself.

Edited by Blame Me
Clarification