Rangers' Wee Spot in Europe - Season 2023/24

20 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Wow.

You guys each spend £600 in order to see your team win the league.  I'm a little speechless that you're actually admitting that the nature of your support is so transactional - oh the romance of it. 

I know you were saying you feel sorry for me earlier, but God, I maybe actually do feel that way a bit if that's the nature of your relationship with your club, and indeed, with football.

You're right that I am resentful, maybe even bitter.

But envious?  I wasn't anyway, but I'm really not now.  

Simple economics mate, without the financial support of fans our clubs cease to exist especially if we want to achieve what we want to achieve, this is also the reason i buy a season ticket for my local junior team and go support them when i’m not watching Celtic however i’m not surprised you have a more narrow minded view of it.

I can romanticise no problem going back to my 1st experiences in 94 of standing in protests to try save my club, the halcyon days of the Seville run to our recent success. So many stories and so many memories that i can’t put a price on. 

But i was there when it cost me less than a fiver and i’d be there if it cost me 10k a year because the simple fact is i fucking love it.

But now we have established your opinion on the matter comes from a place or bitterness and resentment i guess i can now just f**k in the bin where it belongs 😉

37 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

This childish drivel is open espoused by old firm fans when they feel the need to be constantly on the defensive over the massive advantage in resources they enjoy over everyone else bar their counterparts. If any "diddy" fans were really that envious, or bitter over the success of another club, we'd simply take the easy option and start supporting them.

No sane individual supports any of the non-OF sides because they expect to see them win trophies. I know plenty of football fans, and I can categorically state that the bitterest of them are always either Rangers or Celtic fans (depending on which half is currently dominating). 

You opinion is shaped by which side of the fence you are standing on, in my opinion it’s equally as childish to constantly try devalue or bring down the achievements of other clubs particularly Celtic and Rangers in this because it generally comes from a place of bitterness and resentment towards them.

Then what you see is some amount of graft put in by those fans to try force that opinion on you or pass it off as fact, it makes no sense to me whatsoever and comes across as small mindedness and for what return? Does it or will it change anything?

Will a Celtic or Rangers fan feel less satisfied or change their opinion because a fan of a so called diddy club tells them their achievements should mean nothing and they should feel hollow? 

absolutely fucking not no way GIF

11 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

But now we have established your opinion on the matter comes from a place or bitterness and resentment i guess i can now just f**k in the bin where it belongs 😉

It's not bitterness or resentment it's just a parochial view from a small country small mentality.

1 minute ago, Jinky67 said:

You opinion is shaped by which side of the fence you are standing on, in my opinion it’s equally as childish to constantly try devalue or bring down the achievements of other clubs particularly Celtic and Rangers in this because it generally comes from a place of bitterness and resentment towards them.

Then what you see is some amount of graft put in by those fans to try force that opinion on you or pass it off as fact, it makes no sense to me whatsoever and comes across as small mindedness and for what return? Does it or will it change anything?

Will a Celtic or Rangers fan feel less satisfied or change their opinion because a fan of a so called diddy club tells them their achievements should mean nothing and they should feel hollow? 

absolutely fucking not no way GIF

Erm no. It's not childish to question whether or not winning a 1 horse race (which the Prem was until a couple of seasons ago) is an "achievement" or not. 

Responding by basically going "waaaaah you're all JEALOUS" is definitely childish however. 

I am somewhat surprised by your over-defensiveness here though. Last season you were very reasonable and balanced in your views over Celtic and the Prem in general, but then of course Celtic were absolute gubbins and were meekly surrendering to Rangers. Now you've had a few wins and Rangers look like they might be a rabble again the true OF fan emerges and you're acting like Billy Big Baws to a bunch of QoS, Dundee and Falkirk fans 😂

5 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

It's not bitterness or resentment it's just a parochial view from a small country small mentality.

You may be right Willy however not in the case of MT 👇

52 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

You're right that I am resentful, maybe even bitter.

Your initial point was Celtic make more money than the rest of the SPFL combined which we have been able to determine that they don’t. The point where Rangers took their “sabbatical” that may have been the case however we are now 5 years on from that point where that no longer exists.
Your other point was regarding sense of achievement and that it must feel hollow. Celtics goal at the start of every season is to win the league, simple as that. We as fans spend roughly £600 a year (not including kits, away tickets, cup matches) to watch our team do exactly that so when they do we have the right to feel a sense of achievement for getting our money’s worth. As for it being or feeling hollow well quite simply you have never experienced it to know what it feels like so it’s churlish in my opinion to even suggest it as it is for me to suggest there isn’t a massive financial gap between Celtic and Rangers to the rest of Scottish football but I haven’t claimed otherwise here. 
But here is the thing, what do Celtic and Rangers do? Leave which could put the Scottish football pyramid system into more financial trouble? Tell their fans they can no longer show up in the numbers they do and spend the money they do as it’s unfair on the rest of the league? If you have a solution that is viable and sensible then I’m all ears 
In my opinion you come across a little envious, most certainly bitter and definitely harbour some resentment. Maybe a Celtic or Rangers fan took your favourite fitba off you as a wean or something I really don’t know however my opinion on that is essentially validated when you replied to the other poster who said you can’t blame the fans and you replied yes you can.
So I’m more than happy to defend my team and bring you a counter argument when you make a point backed up by fact instead of you just trying to enforce your opinion on what I should be feeling because quite frankly you don’t have the right nor are you important enough to influence it.
So, other than spending £600 (and the rest), what exactly have you achieved?

17 hours ago, Jinky67 said:

Not quite as hilarious as thinking that any effort into trying to tear down someone else's achievement or success in some way builds you up.

OF fans would know all about that

12 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

Erm no. It's not childish to question whether or not winning a 1 horse race (which the Prem was until a couple of seasons ago) is an "achievement" or not. 

Responding by basically going "waaaaah you're all JEALOUS" is definitely childish however. 

I am somewhat surprised by your over-defensiveness here though. Last season you were very reasonable and balanced in your views over Celtic and the Prem in general, but then of course Celtic were absolute gubbins and were meekly surrendering to Rangers. Now you've had a few wins and Rangers look like they might be a rabble again the true OF fan emerges and you're acting like Billy Big Baws to a bunch of QoS, Dundee and Falkirk fans 😂

I am still reasonable and balanced in my views 🙂 Celtic are still are a shadow of what we were under Rodgers however our start has been somewhat positive which gives me optimism that we have a chance. I don't expect Celtic to win the league this year but would obviously love it if we do but i'm not naive enough to think this season may not still be quite a turbulent one however its not really a conversation for this particular thread.

As for me going apparently going "waaah your're all JEALOUS" in the post you quoted my point was directly to MT who does seem to come across that way. I do believe most non OF fans do have resentment towards Celtic and Rangers however there is a plethora of reasons for it including many of them feeling they are unfairly treated by them, the balance of power and by default much of the decision making is done to suit them etc etc again i'm not naive enough to think every fan outwith MT is driven solely by envy. 

And i will defend my right to have an opinion mate especially when someone tries to tell me what i should be thinking or feeling. 

21 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:
1 hour ago, Jinky67 said:
Your initial point was Celtic make more money than the rest of the SPFL combined which we have been able to determine that they don’t. The point where Rangers took their “sabbatical” that may have been the case however we are now 5 years on from that point where that no longer exists.
Your other point was regarding sense of achievement and that it must feel hollow. Celtics goal at the start of every season is to win the league, simple as that. We as fans spend roughly £600 a year (not including kits, away tickets, cup matches) to watch our team do exactly that so when they do we have the right to feel a sense of achievement for getting our money’s worth. As for it being or feeling hollow well quite simply you have never experienced it to know what it feels like so it’s churlish in my opinion to even suggest it as it is for me to suggest there isn’t a massive financial gap between Celtic and Rangers to the rest of Scottish football but I haven’t claimed otherwise here. 
But here is the thing, what do Celtic and Rangers do? Leave which could put the Scottish football pyramid system into more financial trouble? Tell their fans they can no longer show up in the numbers they do and spend the money they do as it’s unfair on the rest of the league? If you have a solution that is viable and sensible then I’m all ears 
In my opinion you come across a little envious, most certainly bitter and definitely harbour some resentment. Maybe a Celtic or Rangers fan took your favourite fitba off you as a wean or something I really don’t know however my opinion on that is essentially validated when you replied to the other poster who said you can’t blame the fans and you replied yes you can.
So I’m more than happy to defend my team and bring you a counter argument when you make a point backed up by fact instead of you just trying to enforce your opinion on what I should be feeling because quite frankly you don’t have the right nor are you important enough to influence it.

So, other than spending £600 (and the rest), what exactly have you achieved?

A pass to paradise that didn't always work and a £50 voucher for the Celtic shop ;) 

Edited by Jinky67

Just now, Jinky67 said:

I am still reasonable and balanced in my views 🙂 Celtic are still are a shadow of what we were under Rodgers however our start has been somewhat positive which gives me optimism that we have a chance. I don't expect Celtic to win the league this year but would obviously love it if we do but i'm not naive enough to think this season may not still be quite a turbulent one however its not really a conversation for this particular thread.

As for me going apparently going "waaah your're all JEALOUS" in the post you quoted my point was directly to MT who does seem to come across that way. I do believe most non OF fans do have resentment towards Celtic and Rangers however there is a plethora of reasons for it including many of them feeling they are unfairly treated by them, the balance of power and by default much of the decision making is done to suit them etc etc again i'm not naive enough to think every fan outwith MT is driven solely by envy. 

And i will defend my right to have an opinion mate especially when someone tries to tell me what i should be thinking or feeling. 

You're still running with envy as the thing for me then?

Why on earth would I envy those who have made a choice I'm perfectly at liberty to imitate?

I might envy those who have something desirable that's beyond my reach.  As we've established though, if I wanted to support Celtic I er... would.  The entry requirements do not appear stringent.

1 minute ago, Monkey Tennis said:

You're still running with envy as the thing for me then?

Why on earth would I envy those who have made a choice I'm perfectly at liberty to imitate?

I might envy those who have something desirable that's beyond my reach.  As we've established though, if I wanted to support Celtic I er... would.  The entry requirements do not appear stringent.

It's an opinion, you disagree. 

Cool

Fresh Prince Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

11 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Sevco/Celtic - whatever.

They're both the same thing essentially.

Give you the prize dosh Monkey 
Europa cup

• Group Stage: €3.63m
  • Per win: €630k
  • Per draw: €210k
  • 1st place: €1.1m
  • 2nd place: €550k

Conference League:

• Group Stage: €2,94m
  • Per win: €500k
  • Per draw: €166k
  • 1st place: €650k
  • 2nd place: €325k

You can add the gate revenue on to that M8.

My dear old Sellick Da took me to my first game when I was 7 or 8. I basically support them because of him.

Should I have stopped supporting them when I grew up and found out they had more money than everyone else?

2 minutes ago, Henrik's tongue said:

My dear old Sellick Da took me to my first game when I was 7 or 8. I basically support them because of him.

Should I have stopped supporting them when I grew up and found out they had more money than everyone else?

Yes, you said.

Keep supporting them if you like.

You'll have the sense not to portray the stuff won though, especially when Rangers were out the picture, as representing any achievement to inspire great pride.