Coronavirus (COVID-19)

2 hours ago, D.A.F.C said:

I'm not a fan at all but if they were genuinely acting on scientific advice then it's hard to blame one person.
What I think they should apologise for is the running down of the health service over decades.
The scientific advisers who came up with the herd immunity pish should be called out.

I think the scientific people, by standing up alongside the politicians at the briefing .. have rather sullied themselves on this,

and the presence of political advisers..., Cummings..., at what are supposed to be scientific advisory groups ( SAGE ) .. has made things worse.

There were no gowns, visors, swabs or body bags in the government's pandemic stockpile when Covid-19 reached the UK.

The scientific advice seems to have been compromised by that reality.

The blunt fact is that politics have taken precedence over public health in this, and the scientists have been sucked in to it..

Edited by beefybake

51 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

What I can remember of unions at Branch level is they call everybody brother.

Course ye cannae call a lord brother unless you yourself are a lord.

Presumably that's why there are some staunch socialist union leaders in the HoL.

I was a member of the AEU back in the day.  A bunch of right-wing b*****ds.

Mind you there were worse, Frank Chapel of the electricians union comes to mind.

14 minutes ago, beefybake said:

I think the scientific people, by standing up alongside the politicians at the briefing .. have rather sullied themselves on this,

and the presence of political advisers..., Cummings..., at what are supposed to be scientific advisory groups ( SAGE ) .. has made things worse.

Also.., the science seems to have been compromised by the reality that austerity has caused the running down of the NHS, no PPE stocks.

The blunt fact is that politics have taken precedence over public health in this, and the scientists have been sucked in to it..

I don't fully agree - I think that certain 'experts' have been happy to peddle the government line to enhance their own insider status and scoop up the gongs and gratitude for doing such a great job. Whitty and Valance in particular seem to revel in the sound of their own voice and have been sucked into nothing.

P and B's pointyhead hero Jason Leitch scuttling away from the disaster scene hasn't gone unnoticed either.

I don't fully agree - I think that certain 'experts' have been happy to peddle the government line to enhance their own insider status and scoop up the gongs and gratitude for doing such a great job. Whitty and Valance in particular seem to revel in the sound of their own voice and have been sucked into nothing.
P and B's pointyhead hero Jason Leitch scuttling away from the disaster scene hasn't gone unnoticed either.
Leitch seems to have reappeared a bit over the last few days.

8 minutes ago, virginton said:

Yes.., hard to disagree with you.

Edited by beefybake

2 hours ago, D.A.F.C said:

I'm not a fan at all but if they were genuinely acting on scientific advice then it's hard to blame one person.
What I think they should apologise for is the running down of the health service over decades.
The scientific advisers who came up with the herd immunity pish should be called out.

They shouldn't be following one scientists advice. It's unlikely the scientists were all in agreement. This we were following the science is a buck passing exercise anyway. They're paid / elected to lead, to make decisions based on the knowledge and advice available to them at the time. If they chose the wrong / bad science, it's their responsibility, not the scientists'. 

Besides, on this exact thread people were asking how our science was different from all other countries. Its clear there was different science and we chose wrongly (as much as you can tell mid pandemic) 

7 minutes ago, madwullie said:

They shouldn't be following one scientists advice. It's unlikely the scientists were all in agreement. This we were following the science is a buck passing exercise anyway. They're paid / elected to lead, to make decisions based on the knowledge and advice available to them at the time. If they chose the wrong / bad science, it's their responsibility, not the scientists'. 

Besides, on this exact thread people were asking how our science was different from all other countries. Its clear there was different science and we chose wrongly (as much as you can tell mid pandemic) 

Public health experts ( identify, isolate, track contacts ) were sidelined, whilst data modellers, and 'nudge experts' ( behaviour psychologists ) got their voices over listened to.

Edited by beefybake

Mind you there were worse, Frank Chapel of the electricians union comes to mind.
I've lost count of how many I've been in. Joined the EETPU, they then merged with the AEU to become the AEEU, which then became Amicus, and now I'm in Unite. I think.

Some reports beginning to come through of kids in ICU with symptoms closely related to Kawasaki Syndrome. Still sketchy regarding numbers and whether there's been any deaths or link to Covid19 but it's a worrying trend. The one saving grace was that kids appeared to be relatively unaffected

4 minutes ago, MuckleMoo said:

Some reports beginning to come through of kids in ICU with symptoms closely related to Kawasaki Syndrome. Still sketchy regarding numbers and whether there's been any deaths or link to Covid19 but it's a worrying trend. The one saving grace was that kids appeared to be relatively unaffected

I had Kawasaki Syndrome when I was two, could've been me.  From what I know about it a severe reaction to a viral infection can be a trigger for it so that could tie in with Covid infection.  My dad actully texted me saying I should be wary, although I don't think that anyone gets the Syndrome when they are adults.  From reading the reports about this the number of cases is very low but atg the same time it's worrying, like everything else I guess.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

I was a fireman on steam engines in the 60’s. There were two unions NUR and ASLEF. Young married firemen, to supplement their wages, used to work on the boats in the harbour loading and unloading. Also some worked on coal lorries.

The union (cannae remember which one) put up a notice reminding workers that they should only have the one job and shouldn’t moonlight. Alongside that notice was another one saying that the head guy of the union had been offered a job as a part-time member of the Electricity Quango at a rate of £20 per week.

I earned about £13 per week.

Bloody unions.

17 hours ago, pandarilla said:

Is flour still not available?

I'd have thought it would be sorted out by now, much like the toilet rolls.

Flour people are constantly buying it as not much to do these days it seems apart from bake some cakes.
People bought a shit load of toilet roll and realised they dont use a 16 pack in a week. 
We have pallets of toilet roll in the warehouse now because of the panic buying :)

16 hours ago, Fullerene said:

The ones who were the worse at keeping 2 metres apart were the staff carrying the signs that say "keep 2 metres apart".

Aye those staff are c***s. c***s everywhere. Queuing outside before the shop opens seems to be fairly steady. Someone banging on the window this morning because we didnt open until 8am. :(