The Falkirk FC Thread

33 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

I lived in Stornoway for a couple of years and the locals all pronounced it as an ee rather than an i and I don't think they could be accused of being English. (Apart from the 'white settlers' as they were known!)

In Inverness it was always ee as well.

My take on the game:

I thought Long had a good game apart from the error for their goal. My immediate thought when he came for his first cross was 'where the feck is he going', only to see him claim the ball with confidence.

I much prefer McCann to Mackie at LB (although I wish it was LWB), however, I thought he played in some very good crosses, especially in the 1st half. Naturally, we didn't have enough bodies in the box to attack them though and I thought MacIver could have been better at that.

McGinn and Spencer is DM overkill and not needed in this league, although I recognise that McGlynn had little option last night. I was disappointed to see Ola moving back regularly to join them though meaning that we had no-one in a forward central midfield position a lot of the time.

Young Yeats may just about do at RB but we obviously need someone in there (absolutely baffling that McGlynn didn't prioritise the position).

Ageyman looks like one of those players that can be a world beater and pish all in the same move! He's going to frustrate the life out of us I think.

I don't think McIver is going to score loads but looks like a good addition to the squad and I'd like to see him paired with Allan.

We had Yeats, Lang and Morrison all out of position so, and I'll say it again, I'd like to see us try a 3-5-2 to help combat this. I'd try Miller as a RWB and go with:

Hogarth,

Lang-Donaldson-Henderson

Miller-Oliver-Spencer-Lawal-McCann

McIver-Allan

Obviously it would be better to get a natural RWB in there but this would at least mean that we've only one player actually out of position and I feel that McGlynn's got to try something different because we need a lot more energy in the team. This would also give us a lot of options off the bench.

On another note; can anyone tell me if Ola Lawal has ever completed a full competitive 90 minutes for us? I know he took a dull one early on last night but he always looks a bit fecked to me!

19 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

On another note; can anyone tell me if Ola Lawal has ever completed a full competitive 90 minutes for us? I know he took a dull one early on last night but he always looks a bit fecked to me!

Yes, but only once in five starts. He played the full 90 in the final league game at Peterhead last season. 

38 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

My take on the game:

I thought Long had a good game apart from the error for their goal. My immediate thought when he came for his first cross was 'where the feck is he going', only to see him claim the ball with confidence.

I much prefer McCann to Mackie at LB (although I wish it was LWB), however, I thought he played in some very good crosses, especially in the 1st half. Naturally, we didn't have enough bodies in the box to attack them though and I thought MacIver could have been better at that.

McGinn and Spencer is DM overkill and not needed in this league, although I recognise that McGlynn had little option last night. I was disappointed to see Ola moving back regularly to join them though meaning that we had no-one in a forward central midfield position a lot of the time.

Young Yeats may just about do at RB but we obviously need someone in there (absolutely baffling that McGlynn didn't prioritise the position).

Ageyman looks like one of those players that can be a world beater and pish all in the same move! He's going to frustrate the life out of us I think.

I don't think McIver is going to score loads but looks like a good addition to the squad and I'd like to see him paired with Allan.

We had Yeats, Lang and Morrison all out of position so, and I'll say it again, I'd like to see us try a 3-5-2 to help combat this. I'd try Miller as a RWB and go with:

Hogarth,

Lang-Donaldson-Henderson

Miller-Oliver-Spencer-Lawal-McCann

McIver-Allan

Obviously it would be better to get a natural RWB in there but this would at least mean that we've only one player actually out of position and I feel that McGlynn's got to try something different because we need a lot more energy in the team. This would also give us a lot of options off the bench.

Not sure about a left sided player at right wing back mind you.

Playing a 5-3-2 or a 3-5-2, would make the signings of Miller & Agyeman void and then you've got Morrison who doesn't fit that system either.

I like the sound of a MacIver & Allan pairing but it would need to be a 4-4-2 and at the moment we don't really have the centre midfielders for it.

9 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

Not sure about a left sided player at right wing back mind you.

Me neither, but it may work. It's happened successfuly plenty of times in the past so I think it would be worth a try.

Was at the game last night and kind of echo what is being said. But for me, it's McCann at LB over Mackie.

Yeats isn't a RB and Donaldson still doesn't fill me with confidence. I don't know if there is any difference between Donaldson or McKay. The saving grace is that Lang does appear to be competent. The young keeper also looked better than previous GKs.

We looked chaotic for part of the 2nd half which fills me of memories of last year. Better opposition will exploit that!

Finally, wtf was going on with Spartan fans. The kids at the end of their stand were screaming abuse at most Falkirk fans but made it really personal to some walking past (I'm no snowflake but personally directing abuse at people passing by isn't on). Then there was that angry Spartan bloke who was hanging around, almost like a handler for the kids getting aggressive to anyone who negatively interacted with the 'ultras'.

Then at the very end there was a pile of angry Spartans (not quite 300), trying to pick fights! Not saying that all Falkirk fans are saints but if their fans behave like that, they really need to consider full segregation.

5 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

Playing a 5-3-2 or a 3-5-2, would make the signings of Miller & Agyeman void and then you've got Morrison who doesn't fit that system either.

I like the sound of a MacIver & Allan pairing but it would need to be a 4-4-2 and at the moment we don't really have the centre midfielders for it.

Miller would play and Agyeman and Morrison would be available off the bench. I just feel that we need to try something different and I don't see why Oliver and Ola couldn't work in that system. As it is we're looking at the same issues as last season.

3 hours ago, LeodhasXD said:

If you introduce yourself as Gill-ee-an and you pronounce it that way and I say that's a load of pish I'll call you what I want...

Doesn't really give a great impression.

What if I'm called Paul but I want everyone to pronounce it Pah Ull. 

I mean the other 83 million Pauls in the world are .. Paul.  But no, I insist on Pah Ull and will expect that to be used.

43 minutes ago, FalkirkBairn2021 said:

What if I'm called Paul but I want everyone to pronounce it Pah Ull. 

I mean the other 83 million Pauls in the world are .. Paul.  But no, I insist on Pah Ull and will expect that to be used.

Amazing

Suspect Will-I-am has been dealing with this kind of ignorance all his life with people just assuming his name is pronounced Will-ee-am. 

1 hour ago, Albertobotswana said:

Was at the game last night and kind of echo what is being said. But for me, it's McCann at LB over Mackie.

Yeats isn't a RB and Donaldson still doesn't fill me with confidence. I don't know if there is any difference between Donaldson or McKay. The saving grace is that Lang does appear to be competent. The young keeper also looked better than previous GKs.

We looked chaotic for part of the 2nd half which fills me of memories of last year. Better opposition will exploit that!

Finally, wtf was going on with Spartan fans. The kids at the end of their stand were screaming abuse at most Falkirk fans but made it really personal to some walking past (I'm no snowflake but personally directing abuse at people passing by isn't on). Then there was that angry Spartan bloke who was hanging around, almost like a handler for the kids getting aggressive to anyone who negatively interacted with the 'ultras'.

Then at the very end there was a pile of angry Spartans (not quite 300), trying to pick fights! Not saying that all Falkirk fans are saints but if their fans behave like that, they really need to consider full segregation.

The Spartans like to consider themselves as a slightly superior club but they play on the fringes of the worst bit of Edinburgh so will no doubt attract the wee radges from the nearby schemes.

Just a wee snippet re McGlynn.

Was at a birthday bash a few weeks back and had a chat with an ex director of Raith.

His take on McGlynn was the same as DF. Interestingly he also said that the team were miles better when McGlynn had to take a few months off for health reasons. Smith then took charge of the team as interim manager and it was like "night and day", only to revert back to boring when mcGlynn came back.

Saying that...if the club were to get rid of the Management team, they only need to sack McGlynn and replace him with Smith. Only one contract to pay off :)

Edited by Zbairn

1 hour ago, ShaggerG said:

Me neither, but it may work. It's happened successfuly plenty of times in the past so I think it would be worth a try.

I remember Hagi playing right back for us but he was a special player who could do a bit with his right foot. Not sure miller's at that level at the moment. With two up top I like my wingbacks to get to the bye line and get balls in but you won't get that if miller is going to want to come inside in the main.

17 minutes ago, Zbairn said:

Just a wee snippet re McGlynn.

Was at a birthday bash a few weeks back and had a chat with an ex director of Raith.

His take on McGlynn was the same as DF. Interestingly he also said that the team were miles better when McGlynn had to take a few months off for health reasons. Smith then took charge of the team as interim manager and it was like "night and day", only to revert back to boring when mcGlynn came back.

Saying that...if the club were to get rid of the Management team, they only need to sack McGlynn and replace him with Smith. Only one contract to pay off :)

I do like what I’ve seen of smith in interviews, but would he take the job without Mcglynn? They’ve been a partnership for a while, not sure he would want it on his own. 

7 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

I remember Hagi playing right back for us but he was a special player who could do a bit with his right foot. Not sure miller's at that level at the moment. With two up top I like my wingbacks to get to the bye line and get balls in but you won't get that if miller is going to want to come inside in the main.

Aye, it's all hypothetical anyway as McGlynn will never entertain it! It would depend on how good Miller was with his right foot and I did see him fire in a cross with his right last night.

1 minute ago, bairn88 said:

I do like what I’ve seen of smith in interviews, but would he take the job without Mcglynn? They’ve been a partnership for a while, not sure he would want it on his own. 

That's the $64000 question. 

I think that McGlynn knows his time is up. He will struggle to get another gig. Smith on the other hand, still has a good bit of working life in him. Maybe he will see this as a perfect opportunity to cut the ties that bind ?? Who knows? 

1 minute ago, bairn88 said:

He might, if the alternative was the dole. Smith with Berra as his assistant?

3 minutes ago, bairn88 said:

Of course he would take it.

This is almost certainly McGlynns last decent job in football.