The Falkirk FC Thread

Completely scunnered at this point to be honest, every time I think they are finally going to do the right thing and go they seem to batten down the hatches and drag their heels a bit more. On the whole that EGM seems largely pointless now. Between being absolutely battered by that statement put out by the BtB boys recently  and Keith laying into them for a wee while in front of 120ish today you would think they would get the message. 

5 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

This was my first AGM / EGM (thanks for the proxy BPM) so it's the first time I've heard SA speaking before.

I thought he came across terribly.

He got off to a bad start in his initial speech / rant when he responded to someone who dared criticise the MSG. It sounded a little petulant to me, like the response of a child who's been scolded for the first time ever.

Then his "where is the love and the trust?" question, when talking about the actions of the BOD / MSG. Those were his exact words. I was so stunned that I actually noted them in my phone. He literally got drowned out in the shouts of response.

He then said that he'd read somewhere about someone who wouldn't renew his ST until the MSG were gone. At which point he said the guy would never be back at TFS,  because he at least wasn't going anywhere.

I've heard from various folk that SA is a really nice guy but he did himself no favours today.

Colin Liddell was better. His underlying message was "we're taking our time to get it right", but his whole tone was of someone speaking for a group whose members want to pass on the baton. Or the majority of them do anyway. That was my reading of his contribution so I still think change will happen. Will be interested to hear if anyone who attended got different vibes from him. 

He did, however, screw up badly when he tried to use semantics to claim that the MSG only really became an organised group over the last couple of years. A succession of former Bairnstrust boardroom reps lined up to shoot him down in flames. .

I thought Brian Guthrie spoke very well, incidentally. He nailed a number of attempted evasions from the panel. I'm a long way short of being his greatest fan but he did well today.

Kenny Jamieson played a blinder. Near the end he asked every BOD member individually if they thought they were dysfunctional and all agreed that they were. They basically admitted that they didn't get on, couldn't work together, and didn't communicate properly to each other, never mind the fans. Hence why not a single hand went up to object to the "should the BOD step down" motion. It was carried unanimously by the attendees in the room - and completely outvoted by the MSG.

A couple of the jibes from the chairman of the meeting towards the former CEO and Chair pretty much summed the whole thing up for me. If they can't even show solidarity in front of the fans, then what chance is there of them working together for the good of the club?

I imagine that would have been a humiliating morning for the BOD attendees. They're finished and they know it.

One final point, seeing as it'll probably annoy Marshmallo. KK got several ovations from the room after speaking and seemed to be held in high regard at least by those who offered an opinion. And yes, he has been offered (and rejected) more money to move elsewhere. Several times.

Decisions being made out with the bod, statements issued without the bod knowing anything about them.AT as the main finance guy knowing basically hee haw about the actual figures behind the academies demise and knowing nowt till march about the btb proposal basically. A complete and utter shambles. Will be interesting to hear knee jerl reactions thoughts on the whole thing.

Edited by Shodwall cat

3 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

This was my first AGM / EGM (thanks for the proxy BPM) so it's the first time I've heard SA speaking before.

I thought he came across terribly.

He got off to a bad start in his initial speech / rant when he responded to someone who dared criticise the MSG. It sounded a little petulant to me, like the response of a child who's been scolded for the first time ever.

Then his "where is the love and the trust?" question, when talking about the actions of the BOD / MSG. Those were his exact words. I was so stunned that I actually noted them in my phone. He literally got drowned out in the shouts of response.

He then said that he'd read somewhere about someone who wouldn't renew his ST until the MSG were gone. At which point he said the guy would never be back at TFS,  because he at least wasn't going anywhere.

I've heard from various folk that SA is a really nice guy but he did himself no favours today.

Colin Liddell was better. His underlying message was "we're taking our time to get it right", but his whole tone was of someone speaking for a group whose members want to pass on the baton. Or the majority of them do anyway. That was my reading of his contribution so I still think change will happen. Will be interested to hear if anyone who attended got different vibes from him. 

He did, however, screw up badly when he tried to use semantics to claim that the MSG only really became an organised group over the last couple of years. A succession of former Bairnstrust boardroom reps lined up to shoot him down in flames. .

I thought Brian Guthrie spoke very well, incidentally. He nailed a number of attempted evasions from the panel. I'm a long way short of being his greatest fan but he did well today.

Kenny Jamieson played a blinder. Near the end he asked every BOD member individually if they thought they were dysfunctional and all agreed that they were. They basically admitted that they didn't get on, couldn't work together, and didn't communicate properly to each other, never mind the fans. Hence why not a single hand went up to object to the "should the BOD step down" motion. It was carried unanimously by the attendees in the room - and completely outvoted by the MSG.

A couple of the jibes from the chairman of the meeting towards the former CEO and Chair pretty much summed the whole thing up for me. If they can't even show solidarity in front of the fans, then what chance is there of them working together for the good of the club?

I imagine that would have been a humiliating morning for the BOD attendees. They're finished and they know it.

One final point, seeing as it'll probably annoy Marshmallo. KK got several ovations from the room after speaking and seemed to be held in high regard at least by those who offered an opinion. And yes, he has been offered (and rejected) more money to move elsewhere. Several times.

very well put BB, pretty much agree with all of that.

Lex and Andy clearly had a plan to pass the buck on everything onto ML and CC.  ML did well and even grabbed the mic to correct Lex (you can just tell she hates him lol) a couple of times, she has clearly made mistakes but i trust her a hell of a lot more that the aforementioned 2.

If the BOD or MSG take anything from the meeting, i hope that it's the fans/minor shareholders are not going away and change needs to happen and happen fast.

4 minutes ago, lanky_ffc said:

I just can't see why you'd want to continue in a position where you're so publically disliked. Surely you get to a point where you think 'this isn't worth the hassle'.

Especially when the premise of you being in that position is your love of the club. They are the classic case of the heroes sticking around long enough to become the villains

10 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

^^^ curry club regular

24 minutes ago, Believe The Hype said:

Ever get the feeling you've been cheated

Na, this EGM was never going to pass any resolutions because of the makings of the shareholdings as per what BPM said. The point of this if I was to guess, was to further the BtB agenda and hasten its arrival by dragging their incompetence into the light, in an official and minuted meeting that cant be avoided.

Mission accomplished int hat sense 

6 minutes ago, falkirkzombie said:

Lex and Andy clearly had a plan to pass the buck on everything onto ML and CC.  ML did well and even grabbed the mic to correct Lex (you can just tell she hates him lol) a couple of times, she has clearly made mistakes but i trust her a hell of a lot more that the aforementioned 2.

I'll probably get flak for this, but I like ML. If you were there today you would have heard some of the panel talking about how hard they work for FFC. I've spent a lot of time around the club in recent years and from what I saw she did more than all the others put together. I always had the impression she was doing it for the right reasons too, rather than just being on an ego trip. I'll be sorry to see her go if she is indeed leaving as SA seemed to infer.

17 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

I'll probably get flak for this, but I like ML. If you were there today you would have heard some of the panel talking about how hard they work for FFC. I've spent a lot of time around the club in recent years and from what I saw she did more than all the others put together. I always had the impression she was doing it for the right reasons too, rather than just being on an ego trip. I'll be sorry to see her go if she is indeed leaving as SA seemed to infer.

She's an employment lawyer and oversaw the McKinnon acquisition. That's ludicrous incompetence 

These people aren't going to go easily. The amount of season ticket renewals has somewhat pulled the rug from anyone planning to withhold their custom. I wonder if it is now the time to to simply turn every home game into a protest? Fans not turning up wont be noticed by these people. Constant bombardment of abuse from the stands will

This.

28 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

Agree - the McKinnon thing was pretty shocking but would rather have her than Lex Miller, Martin Richie et al

2 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

These people aren't going to go easily. The amount of season ticket renewals has somewhat pulled the rug from anyone planning to withhold their custom. I wonder if it is now the time to to simply turn every home game into a protest? Fans not turning up wont be noticed by these people. Constant bombardment of abuse from the stands will

I didn’t realise that Season Ticket renewals levels had held up. Been there protesting after games and it’s not nice but if the clubs in the wrong hands then needs must. 

Just now, Boaby The Bairn said:

Agree - the McKinnon thing was pretty shocking but would rather have her than Lex Miller, Martin Richie et al

Why should we be willing to accept the lesser of two evils? 

She was complicit in the villifiying of the fans. Why hasnt she apologised publicly for that?

There are varying levels of interest in the business side of the club ranging from not interested to actively pursuing the board via EGMs, but the one thing we ALL have in common is that statement. It should never be allowed to slip past in a blur of business speak that no apology has been made. 

36 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

I got the feeling she was thrown under the bus by the rest of them and basicially she was there to take the fall alongside CC, although saying that CC was pulling the strings for her to take the fall.

18 minutes ago, Bairn Necessities said:

She's an employment lawyer and oversaw the McKinnon acquisition. That's ludicrous incompetence 

They mentioned in the tribunal or what was reported on it at least they would not allow her to represent the case as she was a practising lawyer (how the f**k the SPFL/SFA work that one out i dont know)

7 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Why should we be willing to accept the lesser of two evils? 

She was complicit in the villifiying of the fans. Why hasnt she apologised publicly for that?

There are varying levels of interest in the business side of the club ranging from not interested to actively pursuing the board via EGMs, but the one thing we ALL have in common is that statement. It should never be allowed to slip past in a blur of business speak that no apology has been made. 

Not saying we should - giving my views on her vs the rest of the clowns and nothing more.