P&B’s Greatest ever Scottish Sportsman

5 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

Am I the only one Googling to see who some of these folk are?

I'm old enough to remember Lachie Stewart. I even got his autograph at the 1970 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh by diligently waiting on the pavement outside Pollock Halls which was being used as the athlete's village. 😬

52 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

Am I the only one Googling to see who some of these folk are?

Aye that F1 guy for me.

Pretty sure Jim Clark has a statue in a wee obscure village near Cupar. 

Although it might be another racing car driver.

One for the Where am I thread I suppose.

8 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

He has an excellent museum in Duns.

9 hours ago, BFTD said:

I can't be the only one to have never heard of Jim Clark.

I think he's somewhat unheralded because -

1. He's deid, and has been since before F1 really got big.

2. He was a quiet, reserved man brought up on a farm in the Borders, and didn't court or live the sort of playboy lifestyle normally associated with F1

but more so 

3. He participated in F1 in the era before F1 was wholly commercialised and turned into a worldwide "brand", so he's probably far less of a publicly recognisable name than Graham Hill (multiple WC who outlived him, drove well into the commercialised era, and also had a World Champion son), John Surtees (a former motorbike WC, later a team owner, also won a WC while driving for Ferrari), Jack Brabham (multiple F1 WC and later formed his own team which persisted into the 1990's).

The drivers of the 50's and first half of the 60's didn't make anything like the money that their later counterparts did, so they often participated in all formats at a race meet, or travelled to the back of beyond to drive in lesser formula and competitions, and they'd often take part in Le Mans, Sportscar championships, Touring Car, Indy, and multiple others while simultaneously chasing an F1 Championship. Clark is held in such high regard not just because he dominated his peers in F1, but because he would jump in literally anything with wheels and an engine and dominate the competition, even when his opponents were considered to be the masters at whatever it was they were driving.

There's footage of Clark driving Lotus Cortinas in the British Touring car championship. This is back when tintops had no downforce and next to no mechanical grip, so they went into and came out of every corner sideways. What's notable about Clark's car is that he absolutely nails the apex and hits the edge of the tarmac on exit every single time, inch perfect. It's metronomic and absolutely staggering how consistent it is given the cars of that era would have been extremely "interesting" to drive.

Given he was only 32 when he died and F1 drivers of that era often drove into their late 30's, it's not inconceivable that had he lived a bit longer he could have ended his career with 5,6, or 7 WC's, with some of those won in a far higher profile era where even back-to-back or multiple WC drivers with 2 or 3 Championships were rare.

Jackie Stewart is undoubtedly a "great" of the sport, though he is rightfully never discussed as belonging among the absolute "Greatest of all time", but Clark's 1 in 3 win ratio is an anomaly for the period and I think it's only his premature death that means he isn't included in that Fangio/Senna/Schumacher bracket.

20 minutes ago, Lurkst said:

Actually a decent shout. 116 goals scored while playing in an absolutely dreadful Scotland team. If only she was 15 years younger 🫤

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_top_international_women's_football_goal_scorers_by_country

It seemed absolutely nobody got that I was making a pun on "little women". 

18 minutes ago, velo army said:

It seemed absolutely nobody got that I was making a pun on "little women". 

I noticed it but thought Fleeting was a bit tenuous.

Sympathy greenie delivered.

8 minutes ago, Lurkst said:

I noticed it but thought Fleeting was a bit tenuous.

Sympathy greenie delivered.

Fleeting wasn't as tenuous as Caroline Wee-er 🤣🤣.

Thank you for these kind words.

Why am I the only person to recognise Tom Stoltman in their top 10? Not a gripe just curious.

Crowned the World's strongest man two years running and Britain's strongest man for 3 years running.

That's got to count for something?

Just now, johnnydun said:

Why am I the only person to recognise Tom Stoltman in their top 10? Not a gripe just curious.

Crowned the World's strongest man two years running and Britain's strongest man for 3 years running.

That's got to count for something?

"Never heard of him" is likely to be the top answer.

It must be incredibly depressing for people who climb to the top of their field, only to realise that the vast majority of people will never know who they are because their sport isn't one of the cool ones.

(although the strongman stuff is very cool if I ever catch it on the telly, but I couldn't tell you a single name involved except for Geoff Capes)

2 minutes ago, BFTD said:

"Never heard of him" is likely to be the top answer.

It must be incredibly depressing for people who climb to the top of their field, only to realise that the vast majority of people will never know who they are because their sport isn't one of the cool ones.

(although the strongman stuff is very cool if I ever catch it on the telly, but I couldn't tell you a single name involved except for Geoff Capes)

Here he is standing next to some small chap...

NINTCHDBPICT000717022397.thumb.jpg.f8905f839e371664acfeb9e7b6544dc6.jpg

2 hours ago, Cosmic Joe said:

That’s Douglas Bader m8.

How do folk arrive at Ken Buchanan ahead of Josh Taylor? Taylor was undisputed world champion in the equal fewest amount of fights of all time. Ken Buchanan was about 7 or 8 fights away from fighting for a British title at the same stage of his career.