Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

Literally none of these steps are required by a functioning adult. 

In fairness, many OAP’s aren’t fully functioning adults. I remember working the till during my B&Q days and old folk would do exactly as Bennett has described. Fumbling about for the card, putting it in back to front, forgetting their pin. You would just prefer it if they handed over a note. The worst was when they wanted to pay by cheque. Laughable.

1 hour ago, Bonksy+HisChristianParade said:

Literally none of these steps are required by a functioning adult. 

Do you mean they should fuckaround with their phone instead? They should raise the £45 limit on card tapping to £100 imo.

2 hours ago, bennett said:

Search for card, figure out which way card goes in, get the pin wrong, repeat a few times. I'm usually standing behind trying not to look pissed off, face masks help with hiding this.

Hand over some cash, get your change and off you go.

Unless it's a woman, in which case the payment procedure is:

1) Look astonished that the cashier wants payment for the goods.

2) Open handbag, search for purse.

3) Take out purse.

4) Close handbag.

5) Open purse, take out money.

6) Close purse, open handbag, put purse in.

7) Close handbag.

8 ) Hand money to cashier.

9) Accept change from cashier.

10) Open handbag, search for purse which was put in there five seconds ago.

11) Take out purse.

12) Close handbag.

13) Open purse, put change in.

14) Close purse, open handbag, put purse in.

15) Close handbag.

Edited by GordonD

19 minutes ago, GordonD said:

Unless it's a woman, in which case the payment procedure is:

1) Look astonished that the cashier wants payment for the goods.

2) Open handbag, search for purse.

3) Take out purse.

4) Close handbag.

5) Open purse, take out money.

6) Close purse, open handbag, put purse in.

7) Close handbag.

8 ) Hand money to cashier.

9) Accept change from cashier.

10) Open handbag, search for purse which was put in there five seconds ago.

11) Take out purse.

12) Close handbag.

13) Open purse, put change in.

14) Close purse, open handbag, put purse in.

15) Close handbag.

Curious to see if @The_Kincardine has an opinion on the gender-specific description in this post

26 minutes ago, Raidernation said:

Fell down the fucking stairs and did this

Jesus Christ, auld yin.  Hope you're feeling better soon.

Are you sure the doctor didn't re-assemble you from the bodies of criminals, wastrels, and fans of certain Glasgow-based football clubs?

7 hours ago, Dee Man said:

You can get TV remote apps for your phone. I used to hilariously change our TV over with my phone while the wife had the remote beside her. 

Aye, it's not so easy doing it with broken arms...

1 hour ago, jamamafegan said:

In fairness, many OAP’s aren’t fully functioning adults. I remember working the till during my B&Q days and old folk would do exactly as Bennett has described. Fumbling about for the card, putting it in back to front, forgetting their pin. You would just prefer it if they handed over a note. The worst was when they wanted to pay by cheque. Laughable.

When I worked at the Post Office, there were a surprising (to me, anyway) number of elderly folk who would openly tell the cashiers their PIN. They'd just hand you their card and expect you to insert it into the reader and type in their number. As a naive newbie, I'd insist they did it themselves, but it soon became obvious that it was more secure for us to memorise their numbers than for them to repeat it aloud to themselves several times next to a queue including the local junkies.

Still think they were taking the piss, though..."alright, that's your card inserted, now you just type in your PIN...no, that's not it, dear...alright, OK, I'll do it...there you go...now we just need to wait for it to say the transaction's been approved...no, you can't take the card out yet...don't touch the card, dear...no, I'll tell you when you can...if you take it out it's going to...OH FOR f**k'S SAKE, NOW WE HAVE TO START AGAIN!"