The New Raith Rovers Thread

3 minutes ago, TxRover said:

If I recall, his contract is up in June…like Stanton…and a few others. One thought, IF we can hold this, would he be willing to jump to a Premiership laggard and risk relegation versus perhaps riding this insane rocket as far as it can go first?

I really hope so, the connection he has with the players,who in turn have the connection with the support ........ I'm sure the board will be discussing this with January looming large on the horizon 🤞🤞

5 minutes ago, Rovers_Lad said:

The prospect of paying Mehmet`s wages for another 2 years has to be considered in whether to replace him. A good keeper can be the difference between going up or going down in the championship. The rumored £1500 per week over 2 years has to be less than the potential loss of not progressing in the same 2 years. 

We are in desperate need of a proper midfielder Joe Chalmers just isn`t good enough for the Championship and unfortunately neither is Allan(good enough squad player). Personally I would go and try get Dillon Easton on a pre contract next month and explore the option of Byrne both would massively improve us going forward. I know Wighton was great for us last season when he was fit but at this level he offers very little at the very least McCann offers pace and and is a nuisance as for Jak the jury is still out. No chance of finding a goal scorer in January but something has to change up top because we offer nothing.

🤣

🤮 Honest tae feck, talk about delusions of grandeur and wanna be billy big timers, I bet they've got a bloody sore neck looking up at us 😂😂😂

2 minutes ago, SirJimmyofNic said:

🤮 Honest tae feck, talk about delusions of grandeur and wanna be billy big timers, I bet they've got a bloody sore neck looking up at us 😂😂😂

This is Dunfermline fans all over. Again think they are far bigger than they actually are. Why would Easton or Bryne want to go down the way. Easton will probably want a shot at top league football. 

33 minutes ago, Rovers_Lad said:

The prospect of paying Mehmet`s wages for another 2 years has to be considered in whether to replace him. A good keeper can be the difference between going up or going down in the championship. The rumored £1500 per week over 2 years has to be less than the potential loss of not progressing in the same 2 years. 

We are in desperate need of a proper midfielder Joe Chalmers just isn`t good enough for the Championship and unfortunately neither is Allan(good enough squad player). Personally I would go and try get Dillon Easton on a pre contract next month and explore the option of Byrne both would massively improve us going forward. I know Wighton was great for us last season when he was fit but at this level he offers very little at the very least McCann offers pace and and is a nuisance as for Jak the jury is still out. No chance of finding a goal scorer in January but something has to change up top because we offer nothing.

🤣

Cracking Up Lol GIF

In all seriousness, contracts expiring:

January 2024: O'Reilly

June 2024: Byrne (currently contracted to Dundee), Corr, Dick, Easton, Gullan, McGill, Masson, Matthews, Ian Murray, Millen, Stanton, Thomson, Vaughan, Watson

I'm sure, as was mentioned in passing in one interview, that more than a few discussions have occurred. We have effectively secured Championship football for next year, but the prospect of possible promotion must make these talks a wee bit more difficult. Surely Byrne, Easton, Millen, Stanton and Vaughan could all comfortably play at the higher level. We absolutely want to retain Ian Murray and Thomson for their roles, and of the others, I'd think we'd like to sign them all for at least depth.

6 minutes ago, TxRover said:

June 2024: Byrne (currently contracted to Dundee), Corr, Dick, Easton, Gullan, McGill, Masson, Matthews, Ian Murray, Millen, Stanton, Thomson, Vaughan, Watson

I'm sure, as was mentioned in passing in one interview, that more than a few discussions have occurred. We have effectively secured Championship football for next year, but the prospect of possible promotion must make these talks a wee bit more difficult. Surely Byrne, Easton, Millen, Stanton and Vaughan could all comfortably play at the higher level. We absolutely want to retain Ian Murray and Thomson for their roles, and of the others, I'd think we'd like to sign them all for at least depth.

I think Gullan and possibility Mathews might end up wi Baldy at Fawkirk, Masson maybe another that will look elsewhere, but yeah get the rest signed 

Just now, SirJimmyofNic said:

I think Gullan and possibility Mathews might end up wi Baldy at Fawkirk, Masson maybe another that will look elsewhere, but yeah get the rest signed 

If we get promoted, Masson should absolutely be re-signed and loaned out. Gullan, perhaps similar...Matthews, we haven't seen if he's recovered yet.

19 minutes ago, TxRover said:

From that list i'm hoping the board are actively making sure that Easton, Murray and Stanton are signed up as soon as possible, not matter the division we are in next season.

Edited by mrpaddyx

18 minutes ago, TxRover said:

If we get promoted, Masson should absolutely be re-signed and loaned out. Gullan, perhaps similar...Matthews, we haven't seen if he's recovered yet.

Can we get this talk about getting rid of players in the bin. We've just went 5 clear at the top of the league ffs. 

The club deserve a massive amount of credit today for putting the buses on and getting people there to back the players on the pitch. 

The management team deserve a massive amount of credit for the job they're doing. 

The players are the ones on the pitch though and the effort, skill and belief they show game after game is fucking tremendous. 

A great time to be a rover and long may it continue! 

7 minutes ago, grumswall said:

Can we get this talk about getting rid of players in the bin. We've just went 5 clear at the top of the league ffs. 

Its more talk about who's out of contract and the priorities to get some of them signed.