Unpopular opinions.

On 19/01/2024 at 20:06, DiegoDiego said:

Names on the back of shirts should be restricted to surname only.

I know you mean fitba shirts and cringe of getting a name on just a normal t-shirt would be worse.

However, my sisters came over from Scotland last March and presented me with a navy blue t-shirt with a Saltire on the heart and my nickname on the back, with a number 1 on it.  I was well chuffed.  Then my son walked into the room with the same t-shirt but with 2, then my wee daughter with 3.

The nickname is a play on my surname.  Brought a tear to my eye.

We all wear them proudly, but very rarely at the same time if ever apart from that day.

10 hours ago, SlipperyP said:

I know you mean fitba shirts and cringe of getting a name on just a normal t-shirt would be worse.

However, my sisters came over from Scotland last March and presented me with a navy blue t-shirt with a Saltire on the heart and my nickname on the back, with a number 1 on it.  I was well chuffed.  Then my son walked into the room with the same t-shirt but with 2, then my wee daughter with 3.

The nickname is a play on my surname.  Brought a tear to my eye.

We all wear them proudly, but very rarely at the same time if ever apart from that day.

Animated GIF

😘

7 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:

The song "Murder on the Dancefloor" is one of humanity's cruellest creations

^Tried to recreate Saltburn scene and was chucked out the club imo

51 minutes ago, kennie makevin said:

Scots who call football 'fitba' are our equivalent of those English people who call football 'footy'. 

Wait. Do you actually call it football? As in, you verbally pronounce it that way instead of just writing it that way?

I only ever do that when talking to foreigners or landed gentry. 

1 hour ago, kennie makevin said:

Scots who call football 'fitba' are our equivalent of those English people who call football 'footy'. 

Nonsense.  In Scotland it's literally just saying the word.

fit= foot, ba'= ball

fitba' = football

'Footy' on the other hand is an utter abomination of a lazy slang term.

8 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

fit= foot, ba'= ball

fitba' = football

Down Dundee way it's futba 

fut - foot

ba - ball

futba

43 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

fit= foot, ba'= ball

fitba' = football

'Fitba' is a McGlashenesque affectation which basically says 'I am Scottier than thou' . The equivalent of calling 'windows' 'windies' ...

5 minutes ago, kennie makevin said:

'Fitba' is a McGlashenesque affectation which basically says 'I am Scottier than thou' . The equivalent of calling 'windows' 'windies' ...

You'll have a self-enforced ban on saying 'aye' to avoid trying to out-Scot anybody who might say 'yes', aye?

I haven't heard much by Radiohead, but their Bond theme for Spectre was infinitely better than the shite they went with in the end, and fitted the film really well.

3 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

fit= foot, ba'= ball

fitba' = football

and for rugby its haun egg