Dundee Riots

ICTChris

My wife - unfortunately Dundonian - says this was regular even thirty years ago. She remembers seeing an epic bonfire in the middle of the road with a 3 piece suite, beds, wardrobes, chairs - the lot. People remarked it was the best street fire in years.

Less impressed was the guy who came back from his holidays a few days later and found out they'd broken into his house and used his furniture.

1 hour ago, Newbornbairn said:

My wife - unfortunately Dundonian - says this was regular even thirty years ago. She remembers seeing an epic bonfire in the middle of the road with a 3 piece suite, beds, wardrobes, chairs - the lot. People remarked it was the best street fire in years.

Less impressed was the guy who came back from his holidays a few days later and found out they'd broken into his house and used his furniture.

A colleagues daughter is a teacher at the school that got wrecked.  She stays opposite and watched them attack it.  Police CCTV van even parked up in her drive...making her house a potential target.  She has a five year old wee boy, she was shitting herself.

I remember late 70s/early 80s collecting salvage for our scheme bonfire.  People used to give you all sorts of stuff. You would raid other schemes to steal off or set fire to other gangs bonfires.

One resident who was a single mum with six kids sent her two oldest sons (about 20) over to take an old wardrobe off the unlit fire and replace it with one from their house.

Looking back it shows how tough a life she must have been having but back then we just called them minks.  Considering the job I do now i have a much deeper appreciation of her struggles but back then I was just a wee arsehole. 

We even made a bazooka using the inner tubes for rolls of carpets to fire a rocket at the local police station from "The Hilly".  We all watched in what seemed like slow motion as it missed and slammed into the wall of the pub behind just as a guy just came out the door.  Could have done him serious damage.

On more than one occasion residents would waken on 6th Nov with no garden fence and on one occasion somebody threw a calor gas bottle on it.  Thankfully it was empty.  Dread to think what might have happened.

The tatties baked in the embers were braw though. 

One of the folk in the office apparently got sent an image and video of someone who had their tongue cut out for not handing over their car keys. Not very nice to see. Certainly filled the scumdee criteria of a local ned anyway whoever it was 
It's not from Monday night - apparently that video was taken in Glasgow.

One guy did get hit for not handing his car keys over but is fine by all accords.

A colleagues daughter is a teacher at the school that got wrecked.  She stays opposite and watched them attack it.  Police CCTV van even parked up in her drive...making her house a potential target.  She has a five year old wee boy, she was shitting herself.
I remember late 70s/early 80s collecting salvage for our scheme bonfire.  People used to give you all sorts of stuff. You would raid other schemes to steal off or set fire to other gangs bonfires.
One resident who was a single mum with six kids sent her two oldest sons (about 20) over to take an old wardrobe off the unlit fire and replace it with one from their house.
Looking back it shows how tough a life she must have been having but back then we just called them minks.  Considering the job I do now i have a much deeper appreciation of her struggles but back then I was just a wee arsehole. 
We even made a bazooka using the inner tubes for rolls of carpets to fire a rocket at the local police station from "The Hilly".  We all watched in what seemed like slow motion as it missed and slammed into the wall of the pub behind just as a guy just came out the door.  Could have done him serious damage.
On more than one occasion residents would waken on 6th Nov with no garden fence and on one occasion somebody threw a calor gas bottle on it.  Thankfully it was empty.  Dread to think what might have happened.
The school was not wrecked - I also teach there.

6 windows in the community swimming pool area were panned in.

Not excusing it but there was worse damage elsewhere in Kirkton.

12 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

I thought yesterday they said no one had been arrested, surely if they batter you they also scrape you off the floor into their van?

7 hours ago, Sugar_Army said:

We packed opponents bonfires with aerosol cans.

They should've sent the South Uist lads over, would've scared the neds indoors....
00159.jpg
00158.jpg
ElpnNX4WMAIVek4.jpg
EH9yLkEX0AAlb8r.jpg

https://www.nts.org.uk/stories/a-hebridean-halloween

Those are absolutely excellent and I have no qualms about subjecting others to a second viewing by quoting your post in its entirety.

If you'd told me they were stills from a KLF video shoot I'd have believed you.

Those are absolutely excellent and I have no qualms about subjecting others to a second viewing by quoting your post in its entirety.

If you'd told me they were stills from a KLF video shoot I'd have believed you.
I took one look, saw it was in a thread about Dundee and never batted an eyelid. Nowt out of place in those photos in this thread.