Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

People who say the last season of Game of Thrones was shite.

The last episode was bad, but they seem to forget the Battle of Winterfell was in that same season.

The main supplier who I get the majority of my materials & equipment from for work was recently taken over and the service has turned to shit.

Funny thing is, the competition watchdog wasn't happy with the original takeover and made them sell off part of the business to someone else first, as they thought customer service would suffer otherwise.

A year ago they offered next day delivery and had their own delivery fleet. Now they use couriers and you're lucky if you get it by Friday if ordered on Monday. This week I was promised Wednesday which didn't turn up, then on Thursday was told it's 2 hours away but didn't turn up, then today it'll be here before 11 but didn't turn up. 

Had to cancel the job today, my customer seething, and to top it all off if the delivery miraculously appears this afternoon I'll be working the weekend.

1 hour ago, Zetterlund said:

The main supplier who I get the majority of my materials & equipment from for work was recently taken over and the service has turned to shit.

Funny thing is, the competition watchdog wasn't happy with the original takeover and made them sell off part of the business to someone else first, as they thought customer service would suffer otherwise.

A year ago they offered next day delivery and had their own delivery fleet. Now they use couriers and you're lucky if you get it by Friday if ordered on Monday. This week I was promised Wednesday which didn't turn up, then on Thursday was told it's 2 hours away but didn't turn up, then today it'll be here before 11 but didn't turn up. 

Had to cancel the job today, my customer seething, and to top it all off if the delivery miraculously appears this afternoon I'll be working the weekend.

Surely, in this BrexiTory capitalist utopia of free-marketeering & choice, you must have hunners of alternatives ?? Or have they been lying to us ??

1 hour ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

Surely, in this BrexiTory capitalist utopia of free-marketeering & choice, you must have hunners of alternatives ?? Or have they been lying to us ??

The free market offers one or two more expensive, further away, and less well-stocked alternatives.

I'm sure my strongly-worded email will sort this mob out.

8 minutes ago, Zetterlund said:

The free market offers one or two more expensive, further away, and less well-stocked alternatives.

I'm sure my strongly-worded email will sort this mob out.

It does suggest a market opportunity given your possible departure from the spear point due to training requirements.

1 hour ago, TxRover said:

It does suggest a market opportunity given your possible departure from the spear point due to training requirements.

An interesting idea, although if this shambles of a package that turned up at 5pm is the standard to beat, I'm not sure I have it in me.

Is it just me who thinks there's a general crisis of competence in just about every walk of life these days? 

pic.thumb.jpg.06baf79fa203248ea534109df2ac2456.jpg

An interesting idea, although if this shambles of a package that turned up at 5pm is the standard to beat, I'm not sure I have it in me.

Is it just me who thinks there's a general crisis of competence in just about every walk of life these days? 

Stems from managers who were abject workers and companies littered in nepotism.

At least when it was mason only they knew they had to keep up standards.

Couldn't agree more.

Got the wee man a Happy Meal from McDonald's (yes, yes, I know) and the book that came with it about adventurers and pioneers had a wee glossary at the back...

20240328_184119.thumb.jpg.c748bed3f4a87ed434a67ce4a448bb97.jpg

"Ick-thee-oh-saw" indeed. We aren't in England, we pronounce our Rs. And even if we were in England, that's still wrong. 

4 hours ago, Zetterlund said:

Standard these days, except for a series of packages I’ve received from Japan for a car I’m working on. Every single one of them wrapped to protect the contents, contents with additional protection inside the package, absolutely clear and readable address, and they all arrived as fast or faster than stuff from Michigan.

H4H headlight bulbs, in bubble wrap OEM bags, in a small cardboard box, with additional cardboard folded and taped around each one of them to protect them. And a note of thanks for buying. Blooming impressive.

3 hours ago, Salvo Montalbano said:

Got the wee man a Happy Meal from McDonald's (yes, yes, I know) and the book that came with it about adventurers and pioneers had a wee glossary at the back...

20240328_184119.thumb.jpg.c748bed3f4a87ed434a67ce4a448bb97.jpg

"Ick-thee-oh-saw" indeed. We aren't in England, we pronounce our Rs. And even if we were in England, that's still wrong. 

Judging by that definition ichthyosaur should be pronounced "Archie McPherson" 

6 hours ago, Zetterlund said:

I've taken boxes of rubbish to the tip in better condition than that.

Edited by Swarley
Spelling

On 28/03/2024 at 09:32, Venti said:

People who say the last season of Game of Thrones was shite.

The last episode was bad, but they seem to forget the Battle of Winterfell was in that same season.

The battle where all the Dothraki just attacked and vanished. All of them. Then they all turned up later apparently unharmed.

The plot armour in that battle was unreal. Everyone ended up in situations that should have seen them dead, but apparently the deadliness of the undead comes and goes depending on how main a character you are.

Arya, whose arc had finished and she was now just cutting about like a spare part, killing a hitherto formidable and fairly invincible adversary with whom she had no connection or history. Said adversary developing sudden onset stupidity because it was convenient the plot.

The last two seasons weren't very good, but the last was utter, utter pish. It's a landmark series in the way that it was wonderful, wildly popular and crashed and burned so badly that it has been more or less forgotten. 

14 hours ago, Zetterlund said:

Business to Business packaging should meet certain standards (as should private). I know you were already pissed off with the delay, and your customer was pissed off, but that should've been refused acceptance and sent back. Folk can't work like that.

Edited by johnnydun

9 hours ago, TxRover said:

Standard these days, except for a series of packages I’ve received from Japan for a car I’m working on. Every single one of them wrapped to protect the contents, contents with additional protection inside the package, absolutely clear and readable address, and they all arrived as fast or faster than stuff from Michigan.

H4H headlight bulbs, in bubble wrap OEM bags, in a small cardboard box, with additional cardboard folded and taped around each one of them to protect them. And a note of thanks for buying. Blooming impressive.

All my years of going without plastic straws up in smoke in one delivery! 

48 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

Business to Business packaging should meet certain standards (as should private). I know you were already pissed off with the delay, and your customer was pissed off, but that should've been refused acceptance and sent back. Folk can't work like that.

I usually cant be here in person to accept deliveries, which wasn't an issue when the supplier had their own fleet as they're in the industry and you could trust it'd be well packaged and transported. In this box the 18kg gas cylinder was sitting on top of coils of soft copper tube ffs 🙄 Utter morons everywhere.