The Falkirk FC Thread

19 minutes ago, FK1Bairn said:

There was a roaster last week v Annan having a go at MacIver (might have been the same guy) telling him to "just put the ball in the fuckin net, that's 5  fuckin chances" when he put a header over the bar in the first half but he quickly shut up when a number of folk pointed out that he was offside anyway. Not a peep heard from him when others missed chances. 

Sometimes players and the team can be victims of their own success but we definitely have a number of utter p***ks in the fanbase

Yeah that was close to me in the KM7.  Utter walloper.

7 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

McIver is pivotal to the way we play. Think we'd have scored more if he started yesterday, the guys finishing isn't the best but his all round play is fantastic at this level. The winning goal yesterday was a proper old school launch up the park, wee flick on by the big target man down to Oliver to slot it through the goalies legs. Not goal of the season but I sure did love it x

Agree with the start as he's been the foil for our 3 in behind to get themselves goal but in the championship that won't wash.

You can't have a striker missing 3/4 chances a game in that league. IMO we're a much better team than Dunfermline were last season, without looking I'd imagine we've scored more goals, but Wighton managed 16 goals in that team and MacIver's only on 10.

Edit: I did look, 63 goals all season for Dunfermline last season and we're on 67 with 8 games to go.

Edited by FFC 1876

2 minutes ago, FFC1982 said:

Still too many trying to put players down despite an unbeaten season, the guys aren’t robots and will have peaks and troughs particularly with the tuesday-Saturday-Tuesday run we are on. All of the players have contributed massively to our success this season and it’s embarrassing seeing some trying to pick holes in whats been our most successful season in quite some time. Lets just enjoy the ride while it lasts :)

Not really about picking holes. The championship will be a step up and it’s perfectly reasonable to discuss where we will need better quality best season. McGlynn will be doing the same.

One issue as we win more often the people coming aren’t as committed or as informed as those who support us through thick and thin. And it’s less comfortable, the huge guy sitting next to me yesterday had no issues with leaning his fat legs into my personal space. 
But worst are those who moan if things aren’t 100% perfect.  Sadly we want these people to come along but it’s really fucking irritating. 

Edited by Roboccop

57 minutes ago, ChrispPancake said:

Our last 2 against Cove and Stirling. Both wins have had a measure of luck, Cove with Burrel's non offside, and yesterday over 90mins Stirling deserved a draw at worst.

Just my opinion though

It is your opinion but an isolated one. That usually means you are talking shite. Only my opinion of course. 

33 minutes ago, Roboccop said:

One issue as we win more often the people coming aren’t as committed or as informed as those who support us through thick and thin. And it’s less comfortable, the huge guy sitting next to me yesterday had no issues with leaning his fat legs into my personal space. 
But worst are those who moan if things aren’t 100% perfect.  Sadly we want these people to come along but it’s really fucking irritating. 

There was a guy at the back of the stand yesterday who shouted at one point “you are shite Spencer”. Needless to say someone shouted him down telling him “shut the f**k up Pep”. 

1 hour ago, Springfield said:

Tom Lang surely gets the award. No coincidence that Donaldsons overall performances and his continuing coaching of Yeats puts him in pole position, yes it’s a difficult choice, nice one to have…..

Sign of a good player like Lang, is not only on the individual performance, but on the positive effect it has on the surrounding players. 

George Miller, Crawford Baptie, Yogi Hughes, Simon Stainrod are good examples, the players around them were like new signings.

43 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Not really about picking holes. The championship will be a step up and it’s perfectly reasonable to discuss where we will need better quality best season. McGlynn will be doing the same.

He's not talking about next season. He's pointing out that some folk are never happy, no matter how successful or good we are.

6 minutes ago, BPM said:

There was a guy at the back of the stand yesterday who shouted at one point “you are shite Spencer”. Needless to say someone shouted him down telling him “shut the f**k up Pep”. 

This is exactly what I mean. Spencer's been fantastic all season but isn't allowed to have one game off form without some melt calling him 'shite'! FWIW, I thought from the start that there was something up with him, like he'd been ill or something. Presumably he hadn't or he wouldn't have played, but I did think there was something strange going on.

24 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

He's not talking about next season. He's pointing out that some folk are never happy, no matter how successful or good we are.

They have nothing else to pick holes at now. 

24 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Exactly that @ShaggerG , we could have scored 100 goals and conceded 1 and someone would still be saying how terrible we are defensively. There are some who are determined to pick fault regardless of what we do and where we are, after a terrible 8 seasons we’re on the brink of a memorable season and we should be enjoying not complaining that we haven’t blown teams away every week.

1 hour ago, FFC 1876 said:

Agree with the start as he's been the foil for our 3 in behind to get themselves goal but in the championship that won't wash.

You can't have a striker missing 3/4 chances a game in that league. IMO we're a much better team than Dunfermline were last season, without looking I'd imagine we've scored more goals, but Wighton managed 16 goals in that team and MacIver's only on 10.

Edit: I did look, 63 goals all season for Dunfermline last season and we're on 67 with 8 games to go.

In tight games recently (Stirling aside) MacIvor's missed a good chance at 0-0 early on, usually a header, and I too wonder how that will translate into next season, as you've got to imagine that we won't get quite so many chances each match. At this level, it feels like we need to make a choice between a clinical finisher or a good link-up play forward, as strikers who possess both skills are (understandibly) highly prized commodities.

How much would we need to pay into the FSS to afford Kevin van Veen? 🤣

Just now, Bairney The Dinosaur said:

Got any radar charts for us? 

Don't. He's just about to tell us how we should have crammed 10k seats into Brockville, or led a charm campaign to persuade the SPL to allow groundsharing.

1 hour ago, Roboccop said:

Spare us the super fan bollocks - doesn't matter how long you've been going. 

Yesterday was brilliant from start to finish and you're moaning about too many Falkirk fans and some guy with "fat legs"! 😆

2 hours ago, Roboccop said:

The huge guy sitting next to me yesterday had no issues with leaning his fat legs into my personal space. 

But worst are those who moan if things aren’t 100% perfect.  

🤣

18 minutes ago, Bula Bairn said:

Spare us the super fan bollocks - doesn't matter how long you've been going. 

Yesterday was brilliant from start to finish and you're moaning about too many Falkirk fans and some guy with "fat legs"! 😆

No one said I was better than someone else. And I want these people to come along but don’t try to tell me that they are not more fickle. That’s why they boo an undefeated team.