Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

4 minutes ago, coprolite said:

I suspect that showing a fat man with a combover wearing a stained tracksuit and crying alone in a dingy bookies might not create the aspirational brand image they're looking for. 

See also: glamorous bond girls in "online casinos" 

When The Fun Stops, Stop!

bettingshopPICT0159.jpg

I haven't had many problems with the GP but I have proudly outwitted the receptionist on one occassion when she seemed to be heading towards being a bit snippy. I informed her that the problem was "downstairs" and that further detail is available if that is her preference

In fairness, I did have a fairly worrying issue within my ballbag which turned out to be nothing, but all the same, get that shit checked gentlemen.

1 hour ago, Tynierose said:

They are given basic training on red flags, i.e that stupid c**t with crushing chest pain that's just had another burger should phone an ambulance.

By asking what the complaint is they put it in our slot notes so we can see what's wrong and allows us to prioritise.  For example if I'm just given a list of 40 I will ring them in order.  However if I can see that number 22 on the list has sob, crushing headaches, worsening low moods, is a child etc then I will phone them before I phone Jean who is number 3 on my list with a mole that she has had for 8 months.  

They do as I said put calls onto a triage list where you are phoned back by a GP/ANP etc.

Tell her to phone the vet.

1 hour ago, Tynierose said:

Part of the receptionists role is to signpost patients appropriately due to the lack of gp capacity.

Depending on the complaint who is the most appropriate person to deal with patients.  Is it GP or ANP, is it Physio, is it practice nurse, is it a mental health professional, is it in house pharmacy or is it something that can be seen at a pharmacist.

Is it an urgent on the day appointment required, is it a chronic issue that is worsening, is it something that's been there for months but someone wants it seen now etc etc.    

Its there job it signpost and pass the request to the most appropriate practitioner.

Some are decent, some are c***s just like every other job, but they are instructed to ask what's wrong.

In the vast majority of practices they stick you on a triage list to be phoned back by a GP or an ANP.

The fundamental issue though, lack of GP's.

That's all explained on the recorded message we get whenever we phone the surgery.

I sometimes wonder how many folk actually take it onboard all the same.

That really fucking annoys me. Happened to me in Auckland. Had made a particularly lovely batch of Pasta Bolognaise and after a few beers I was looking forward to snaffling a plateful of it in the wee small hours.

Completely unable to find it, I resigned myself to the fact I was a little tipsy and it might have been shifted to another shelf. Still nae sign of it the next day. Just infuriating that everyone is living on a budget in a hostel. Anyone who steals anything is a c**t, stealing from someone in a hostel deserves the death penalty.

Wasn't there an utter mink on here who was bragging about stealing folks's food from a shared fridge in a hostel?

1 hour ago, 10menwent2mow said:

That really fucking annoys me. Happened to me in Auckland. Had made a particularly lovely batch of Pasta Bolognaise and after a few beers I was looking forward to snaffling a plateful of it in the wee small hours.

Completely unable to find it, I resigned myself to the fact I was a little tipsy and it might have been shifted to another shelf. Still nae sign of it the next day. Just infuriating that everyone is living on a budget in a hostel. Anyone who steals anything is a c**t, stealing from someone in a hostel deserves the death penalty.

@supermik, come on down!

Don't know how common this is so don't know if anyone can relate to it but it's happened to me a few times over the years and more frequently again recently as aux leads don't seem to stay tight for any length of time:

For some reason the vehicle you're driving won't connect to your Bluetooth so you're driving along listening to tunes through your phone via an aux lead to your car stereo and go to change the tune but the slight movement in your phone means the super sensitive aux lead comes loose so you have re-insert the lead tightly and press play again but the fucking phone is locked so you have to try to enter your password while swerving all over the road trying to avoid pesky schoolkids then when you eventually open the phone and press play, the volume has gone back down on the phone so you go to put the volume back up but the phone is giving you a warning that listening at too high a volume causes your ears to fall off so you have to press OK that you understand the warning then go to put the volume back up then once you get all that sorted you put the phone back down to enjoy your music and as you gently place the phone back down the fucking aux lead comes loose again and you have to repeat the entire process. 

I'm sure these aux lead manufacturers must use the cheapest most degradable materials so you have to buy a new one every 15 minutes. c***s. 

Edited by Dee Man

2 hours ago, 10menwent2mow said:

This didn't happen in 1992 did it?

I was in Auckland then and after buying my onward plane ticket, went to get some groceries. It was only when my credit card was declined that I realised I'd made an error in my sums and was now over my limit. In those pre-Internet days, the only practical way to deal with that was to wait until my bank back home made the scheduled auto-payment to clear the balance. But that wasn't going to happen for another week. First I talked to the hostel manager and confirmed he was cool with me living rent free until I was back in funds. Then I did some more sums and calculated that I had little more than the loose change in my pockets to live on until then. So, I went back to the shop and bought 2 loaves of bread, a jar of peanut butter and a can of instant coffee. That was going to be my diet for the next 7 days. The following morning I discovered that some twat had nicked the unopened coffee.

I realise that as it's almost 30 years on, the odds of me finding the b*****d are slim at best. But when I do, I promise I'm going to go full Liam Neeson on his ass.

I was broke for a while in Israel and slept by a river across the river from a Youth Hostel. Nipped over in the morning for a shower and a free breakfast from the buffet, and I don't feel remotely bad about it, was there for about a week.

Edited by welshbairn

I was broke for a while in Israel and slept by a river across the river from a Youth Hostel. Nipped over in the morning for a shower and a free breakfast from the buffet, and I don't feel remotely bad about it, was there for about a week.

I’ve forwarded this to Labour’s disciplinary process as I think it breaches one of the EHRC rules

5 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Four numbers and two stars gets you about £900. I'd tell them to keep it.

Aye it’s pish considering the odds of matching that many numbers are already fairly astronomical. So near and yet so far.